The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   One more question with rules myths (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/43192-one-more-question-rules-myths.html)

TwoBits Mon Mar 31, 2008 02:20pm

One more question with rules myths
 
Where is the FED rule that references this myth and explanation:

· Two runners may not touch the same base at the same time. FALSE, however one of them is in jeopardy of being put out. If a runner is forced to advance to the next base, the lead runner is out if tagged. If the lead runner is not forced, then the trail runner is out if tagged.

The OBR reference is 7.03, but I can't find the FED equivalent.

UmpJM Mon Mar 31, 2008 02:30pm

TwoBits,

See FED 8-2-8a.

JM

Blue37 Mon Mar 31, 2008 02:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TwoBits
Where is the FED rule that references this myth and explanation:

· Two runners may not touch the same base at the same time. FALSE, however one of them is in jeopardy of being put out. If a runner is forced to advance to the next base, the lead runner is out if tagged. If the lead runner is not forced, then the trail runner is out if tagged.

The OBR reference is 7.03, but I can't find the FED equivalent.

Is this what you needed?

Rule 8 Baserunning
SECTION 2 TOUCHING, OCCUPYING AND RETURNING TO A BASE
ART. 8 . . . A runner acquires the right to the proper unoccupied base if he touches it before he is out. He is then entitled to this base until he is put out, or until he legally touches the next base while it is unoccupied or until a following runner is forced (2-24-1) to advance to the base he has occupied. A runner need not vacate his base to permit a fielder to catch a fly ball in the infield, but he may not interfere.
a. If two runners are on the same base, at the same time and both are tagged, the following runner is declared out. On a force play situation, the runner who is forced to advance shall be declared out when tagged on the base or the base to which he is forced is touched by a fielder while in possession of the ball.

Robert E. Harrison Mon Mar 31, 2008 02:33pm

Rule 8-2-8 in 2007 Book
 
A runner acquires the right to the proper unoccupied base if he touches it before he is out. He is then entitled to this base until he is put out, or until he legally touches the next base while it is unoccupied or until a following runner is forced to advance to the base he has occupied.

2008 books are in the car.

mbyron Mon Mar 31, 2008 02:40pm

Could it be . . . 8-2-8? :D

TwoBits Tue Apr 01, 2008 08:28am

How could I have possibly not seen that?

Thanks, guys!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1