The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 07, 2002, 02:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
Bob, I think it would wise to show all of the 8-4-2j rule:
    Any runner is out when he:
      fails to reach the next base before a fielder either tags the runner out or holds the ball while touching such base, after runner has been forced from the base he occupied because the batter became a runner (with ball in play) when other runners were on first base, or on first and second, or on first, second and third.
      EXCEPTION: No runner may be forced out if a runner who follows him in the batting order is first put out (including a batter-runner who is out for an infield fly).

In situation 9.1.1h, since the runner "reached" the base I would not see 8-4-2j as the applicable rule, but rather rule 8-2 and it's penalty for not touching bases. (Appeal rule and penalty).

Now add to that rule 2-29-3 which states:
    When a runner advances beyond a base to
    which he is forced without touching it, the force play remains. [my emphasis]

Thus, in 9.1.1h the force remains in effect on R2 for missing 3rd base. At least that's how I see it.

In 9.1.1k, the force on R2 had been removed during playing action.


Just my opinion,

Freix


Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1