The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Just curious... (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/42479-just-curious.html)

bob jenkins Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08
I know the clip was college, but the OP stated for a FED opinion.

As for FED...when was there a "must slide to the base" rule? Or was that never in there?

If by "to" you mean "and not beyond", then that rule (by itself, without the added "and makes contact") was never (afaik) in the FED rules.

dash_riprock Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GarthB
Typical announcers...they paid attention to half of what Yeast told them.

And as a result, got nothing right.

bossman72 Thu Mar 06, 2008 12:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ozzy6900
I've got R1 out as in the video. There was a touch by R1 to F6 but it did not affect the throw as it was quality enough to be a whacker at 1st. Personally I thought B1 was also out for the DP but the video doesn't put me in U1's perspective.

In FED, however, I have interference just for R1's touch of F6 and I'll get both R1 & B1 out for the action. Remember, the video is "big boy" ball (NCAA) but in kiddie ball (FED), it doesn't matter whether the throw was a quality one or not.

"Sorry, coach! Your man intentionally reached out and made contact with F6. I got 2 out here!"


OZ, if I were to call this play, I probably would have let the violation go (even in FED). R1 barely touched him. I'm not giving the defense 2 for the "tooshie rub" R1 gave the fielder.

SAump Thu Mar 06, 2008 10:43pm

Good no call
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08
The play in question is a tough one because the infielder does a great job of clearing himself from the base...he not affected by the slide at all...

Had runner been there sooner, he may have made a legal attempt to break up a potential double play. Contact occured on 1B side the bag as runner slid within line of base. Fielder would not have FPSR protection in front of base.

D-Man Fri Mar 07, 2008 03:29am

The play at 1B was a whacker.

The runner grabbed at the fielder (and did make contact by the way).

You're not gonna grab that out? That grab, or even the anticipation of that grab, could have made the difference in that play. The clearly intentional grab gives you an out. U3 can be 2 or 3 more steps to the 1B side, as well. Y'all may have a case in pro but if a player makes a grab at a fielder, I'm getting it all day.

I've got interference.

D

SAump Fri Mar 07, 2008 08:25pm

After further review.
 
F6 lost his balance after being grabbed on the ace. I found it hard to believe F6 would flop over that.
But if you will look closely, you may see that the runner's foot during the slide may have clipped F6's back foot before it left the bag. Legal?
It appears F6 did not have both his feet "set" to make a good throw and follow through towards 1B.
I would not rule interference after viewing this replay.

MrUmpire Sat Mar 08, 2008 12:02am

I believe the umpires ruled that what little contact there was did not alter the fielder's play. I would agree.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1