![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
Penalize offenses in the order in which they occurred, as you did. So you're right to think that on the OBS the offense will not take an inning-ending double play. BR awarded 1B.
R2 and R3 are NOT forced to advance by the award to BR, which occurs after playing action and R1 is out for INT. I would have returned them to their bases, so that the result was bases still loaded, 2 outs.
__________________
Cheers, mb Last edited by mbyron; Mon Mar 03, 2008 at 03:37pm. |
|
|||
I agree with mbyron. I also think you would return the runners even if they were stealing/running on the pitch (canceling the award they would have received for the catcher's obstruction), since they can't advance on the interference by R1, whether or not there was MC..
|
|
|||
Okay, I'm going to try and break this down.
1. You have F2 on OBS...if the b/r safely reaches 1B, the OBS is ignored 2. R1 is tagged out (2 Out), then ejected for Malicious Contact. Immediate Dead ball. Return runners to last base reached prior to the MC... My question here is that had no OBS occurred, could you have a double play here due to the willful and deliberate interference by illegally attempting to break up a double play? So...we place B/R on 1B because of the OBS, then you also take the run off the board and return runners to 2B and 3B...bases loaded, 2 out. Which I think matches a couple other opinions on here.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
well, if he successfully reaches 1B safely he wasn't really "obstructed" was he? w/o the OBS, you've pretty much got a double play...so if he successfully reaches 1B, minus the Malicious, what are you going to call? You'd still call the OBS, but ignore it becuase it didn't matter...the offense wasn't disadvantaged by the OBS...but I haven't seen a video clip...
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
1) Catcher's Int. Normal rule (as it applies here): BR gets first and all runners return, unless forced. Defense gets option of the play or the penalty.
2) Malicious contact and Intentional INT on R1. Normal Rule: R1 out and ejected and BR out. Runners return. If we truly penalized in the order in which they occur, then we have R1 out and ejected and the BR (awarded first on the CI, which was administered first) out for the intentional interference by R1. R2 and R3 return because of the interference of R1. ...although mbyron's interp just "feels" more right since BOTH penalties are more or less enforced. I'm confused... |
|
|||
I agree bossman, I have a hard time calling a willfull and deliberate interference...because the CI gives the offense the option in this case to accept the play or the runner at 1B...the MC had no effect on the double play because had the CI not occurred, the MC would've come into play...Yep, I'm on Mbyron's ruling here...but I like talking about this situation...it's not about who's right/wrong on here necessarily...we need to get to a situation where we all get this right on the field...keep 'em coming guys...although I think we have the correct sitch on here...
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again |
|
|||
I think the catcher obstruction happened first, so BR is awarded 1B, no chance for a DP involving BR. Interference kills the play and removes the force, R1 is out and ejected, runners return, no run scores. 2 outs, 1 player tossed, bases still loaded.
Offense is not going to take result of the play instead of catcher obstruction, because the result should be a DP for maliciously interfering with a DP attempt. Just a side note, I don't think I would have a discussion with my partner 15-20 feet from 2 coaches who are head to head in such a volatile situation. They must each go their own dugout or very near it and then my partner and I will discuss. Last edited by DG; Mon Mar 03, 2008 at 09:43pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Train Wreck, Malicious Contact, or Obstruction. | Rattlehead | Softball | 22 | Mon Jun 11, 2007 04:05pm |
Almost Malicious contact ? | Chess Ref | Softball | 26 | Mon Mar 12, 2007 02:09pm |
Obstruction / Malicious Contact | mcrowder | Softball | 32 | Fri May 21, 2004 02:22pm |
Malicious Contact | Gre144 | Baseball | 1 | Wed Jul 04, 2001 11:42am |