The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jan 29, 2002, 12:45am
Official Forum Member

I've been umpiring baseball for nearly 9 years now, I'm currently 20. This last year I made the jump from the local club level to American Legion. I enjoy umpiring, in fact that is about the only thing that I really enjoy about spring and summer.
I enjoy it so much I'm interested in advancing my career up to the College and Major League levels.
I have done enough reading around the web and magazines to know that in order to get to the Majors you have to attend a school recognized by the MLB.
I was wondering if someone could help me out with information on these schools. I already have all the Information from the schools themselves, but I'm interested in hearing from people who have attuned the schools, what they have thought and what they would recommend.

Beefkake
Old Tue Jan 29, 2002, 10:39am
Official Forum Member

Try URC

There is another message board at the Umpire Resource Center with an entire section developed to Professional Umpiring. In that section, there are numerous posts about the two schools for professional umpires.

http://www.umpire.org

Old Tue Jan 29, 2002, 08:16pm
Veteran College Umpire

I went to Wendelstedt's school in 1985 - awhile back, to be sure, but I can pass along a few thoughts.

I was 34 when I went - in reality, too old to get a job in pro ball. But I wanted to move up the ladder, and was told this was a great item on the resume. IT WAS! 5 weeks of 6-days-a-week, 8 AM to 6 PM, 4 classroom hours and 6 on the field - WOW! They taught the rule book inside out, tested us daily on it, then went on the field and set up drills and situations for us to sharpen the knowledge on. Pitching machines allowed us to work on our plate game, and a dozen minor and major league umpires watching and critiquing every move made us better every day.