![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
GB |
|
|||
Quote:
Tell me what you would do in this sitch: No DBT fence only lines past dug out. B1 hits single to short left. BR makes very wide turn. Immediately after BR touches first, 1BC, standing in his box, turns toward 1st base dugout to motion for his courtesy runner. F7 in short left throws wild behind BR and ball hits 1BC square in back. Ball was obviously headed to DBT. Do you kill it or play on? I have nothing, but according to Evans 1BC was not doing or attempting to do his job and play should be killed. Is this correct? |
|
|||
Quote:
1. the coach was doing his job. 2. he did not have an oportunity to avoid the ball. Nothing similar at all to the OP. Why kill the ball?
__________________
GB |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
The inference you made regarding Evans was that the 1BC and ODB have the job to avoid contact with the ball. It's either their job or it's not. In my sitch the 1BC turns his back to a live ball and you're excusing it. In the OP I presented the possibility that ODB was doing something else besides watching the ball(same as 1BC) and you have interference. These are very similar. In both cases a person in their legal spot in LBT unknowingly get hit by a live ball headed toward DBT. Tell me what's different? Edited BTW, I'm not suggesting interference on the OP is the wrong call. I'm saying it's a judgement call and an umpire is within the rules and intent of the rules to have a no call. Which is, based on my visualizing the OP, what I would do. Last edited by CO ump; Thu Aug 30, 2007 at 01:58pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
I proposed the "what if" ODB wasn't watching the ball when he got hit? Umpire has to judge if ODB a. intentionally contacted ball b. willful indifference caused contact c. Attempted to avoid but was unable d. Wasn't watching when contact was made. I believe that A and B result in interference C and D do not require a call in this situation |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Steven, How can someone get hit intentionally and unknowingly at the same time? |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Can "FOUL" be made "FAIR"? | PAT THE REF | Baseball | 60 | Sat Feb 24, 2007 09:01pm |
No "Intent" in interference | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 14 | Mon Jan 29, 2007 12:07pm |
Batter Interference or "Thats Nothin" | oneonone | Softball | 5 | Sun Jun 11, 2006 09:02pm |