The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jun 10, 2007, 12:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Question Infield Fly?

Okay - so I thought I was finally starting to understand the IFF rule, but I was confused by a situation in today's Mets-Tigers game.

1 out, runner on 1st, when the batter hits a pop fly to fair territory right in the vicinity of 1st base. F4 comes over to field the ball, but he doesn't make the catch. F4 throws to F3 (who's on the bag), but the throw is late and the BR reaches first safely. F3 then throws to F6 (who's covering second) and forces out a very confused R1.

I thought that the BR would be out on an infield fly, and R1 would have to be tagged to be put out. Did anyone see the play? Alternatively, can anyone correct my misunderstanding of the rules?
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1