The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Infield Fly? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/35531-infield-fly.html)

Mark Dexter Sun Jun 10, 2007 12:15am

Infield Fly?
 
Okay - so I thought I was finally starting to understand the IFF rule, but I was confused by a situation in today's Mets-Tigers game.

1 out, runner on 1st, when the batter hits a pop fly to fair territory right in the vicinity of 1st base. F4 comes over to field the ball, but he doesn't make the catch. F4 throws to F3 (who's on the bag), but the throw is late and the BR reaches first safely. F3 then throws to F6 (who's covering second) and forces out a very confused R1.

I thought that the BR would be out on an infield fly, and R1 would have to be tagged to be put out. Did anyone see the play? Alternatively, can anyone correct my misunderstanding of the rules?

GarthB Sun Jun 10, 2007 12:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
Okay - so I thought I was finally starting to understand the IFF rule, but I was confused by a situation in today's Mets-Tigers game.

1 out, runner on 1st, when the batter hits a pop fly to fair territory right in the vicinity of 1st base. F4 comes over to field the ball, but he doesn't make the catch. F4 throws to F3 (who's on the bag), but the throw is late and the BR reaches first safely. F3 then throws to F6 (who's covering second) and forces out a very confused R1.

I thought that the BR would be out on an infield fly, and R1 would have to be tagged to be put out. Did anyone see the play? Alternatively, can anyone correct my misunderstanding of the rules?

If there was only R1, it was not an infield fly. IFF requires less than two outs and R1, R2 or R1, R2, R3.

From OBR 2.00 An INFIELD FLY

is a fair ball (not including a line drive nor an attempted bunt) which can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort, when first and second, or first, second and third bases are occupied, before two are out. The pitcher, catcher and any outfielder who stations himself in the infield on the play shall be considered infielders for the purpose of this rule.

When it seems apparent that a batted ball will be an Infield Fly, the umpire shall immediately declare “Infield Fly” for the benefit of the runners. if the ball is near the baselines, the umpire shall declare “Infield Fly, if Fair.”

The ball is alive and runners may advance at the risk of the ball being caught, or retouch and advance after the ball is touched, the same as on any fly ball, if the hit becomes a foul ball, it is treated the same as any foul.

If a declared Infield Fly is allowed to fall untouched to the ground, and bounces foul before passing first or third base, it is a foul ball. if a declared Infield Fly falls untouched to the ground outside the baseline, and bounces fair before passing first or third base, it is an Infield Fly.

jimpiano Sun Jun 10, 2007 12:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
Okay - so I thought I was finally starting to understand the IFF rule, but I was confused by a situation in today's Mets-Tigers game.

1 out, runner on 1st, when the batter hits a pop fly to fair territory right in the vicinity of 1st base. F4 comes over to field the ball, but he doesn't make the catch. F4 throws to F3 (who's on the bag), but the throw is late and the BR reaches first safely. F3 then throws to F6 (who's covering second) and forces out a very confused R1.

I thought that the BR would be out on an infield fly, and R1 would have to be tagged to be put out. Did anyone see the play? Alternatively, can anyone correct my misunderstanding of the rules?

Infield Fly rule is in effect when first base AND second base are occupied with less than two outs.

LilLeaguer Sun Jun 10, 2007 12:29am

Not the IFF Rule Situation
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Dexter

1 out, runner on 1st, ...

You need a runner at 1st and another runner at 2nd (at least) to trigger the IFF Rule.

Welpe Sun Jun 10, 2007 01:09am

Just to pile on...you need at least a runner on first and a runner on second (or the bases loaded) with less than two out for the in field fly rule to be in effect.

LMan Sun Jun 10, 2007 04:30pm

how many runners do you need? Just want to be clear on this.

Mark Dexter Sun Jun 10, 2007 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LMan
how many runners do you need? Just want to be clear on this.

I think I got it. Thanks. :p

Welpe Sun Jun 10, 2007 05:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LMan
how many runners do you need? Just want to be clear on this.

Two, maybe three but never none nor one.

LMan Sun Jun 10, 2007 05:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe
Two, maybe three but never none nor one.

Almost there...could you go over it one more time?

SanDiegoSteve Sun Jun 10, 2007 05:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LMan
Almost there...could you go over it one more time?

If Who's on first, and What's on second, but not if Who's on first without What on second or What on second and I Don't Know on third. Now if Who's on first, What's on second, and I Don't Know's on third, with one or none out, then it is a possible IFF situation.:)

On a side note, is Rick Reed always horrible behind the plate, or just today?

mbyron Sun Jun 10, 2007 06:55pm

Shouldn't it be called the "Infielder's Fly Rule"?

kylejt Sun Jun 10, 2007 07:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron
Shouldn't it be called the "Infielder's Fly Rule"?

No. That's more like a "SHOE CHECK!" in a Little League game. Only different gear.

RPatrino Sun Jun 10, 2007 10:51pm

Steve, to answer your question, YES!!

I'm just curious, Mark Dexter. You have been registered here since 1999, and have posted 4,160 times, but not in the baseball forum, correct? And you are not an umpire, right?

Mark Dexter Mon Jun 11, 2007 08:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RPatrino
Steve, to answer your question, YES!!

I'm just curious, Mark Dexter. You have been registered here since 1999, and have posted 4,160 times, but not in the baseball forum, correct? And you are not an umpire, right?

I'm a basketball and football official who lurks (and occasionally posts) over here on the baseball board. The only umpiring I've done is when I've been asked to be a BU at some of my brothers' LL games (and before anyone says anything, I do NOT wear a ball bag when I do so!).

buckrog64 Mon Jun 11, 2007 09:22am

I am not a baseball ump either, (fb and bb) but I witnessed a similar situation this past weekend where there was an IFF called. The bases were loaded and the infield was drawn in, so on the hit they had to retreat a bit to catch the ball, but i thought it was clearly an IFF situation. The base ump signaled IFF, but no one in the stands heard him call it audibly. Do you usually holler IFF? Do you have to yell it loud enough that they hear you in the concession stand? I thought it appeared he handled it properly, but he sure caught hell from the gathered rules experts in the bleachers.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1