The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Tagged on a force out (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/35188-tagged-force-out.html)

Dave Reed Thu May 31, 2007 10:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GarthB
Yes, it is correct. See Bob's post for why your's isn't.

All right, I'll try again. Garth said: "The run does not score when the third out occurs before the batter/runner safely reaches first."

This implies that the run doesn't score if any third out occurs before B/R safely reaches first. In fact for this part of 4.09(a) Exception to hold, the third out must be made by the B/R, and by the B/R only. Obviously both you and Bob Jenkins know this, but for the benefit of others I included a ubiquitously cited situation to demonstrate that the above quoted statement isn't quite right.

There are other ways for the exception to be invoked, but in those cases the status of the B/R is not relevant.

I'm not sure what part of my original post you think is incorrect, but I like to think that the paraphrase of rule 4.09 is correct. And this current post shows that I think my first paragraph was also right.

tibear Thu May 31, 2007 10:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives
tibear on IFF rule: Simply eliminate the first, second and third because if we have the bases loaded by definition we have runners at first and second.


Simple. Because if you have the bases loaded come coach (an maybe even an under-educated umpire) will say it isn't in effect because the rule says just first and second.

Easiest discussion in the world: Coach with bases loaded are there runners at first and second?? Let's play ball.

I believe in the KISS philosophy and it seems the authors of the baseball rulebook don't. They should try to simplify the rulebook as much as possible so there wouldn't be so much confusion.

mcrowder Thu May 31, 2007 10:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GarthB
Yes, it is correct. See Bob's post for why your's isn't.

Garth, technically he's right. You MEANT - the 3rd out is made BY the BR before the BR reaches first ... but it's not what you said, and that difference is what he's talking about. There are numerous ways the 3rd out could be made BEFORE BR reaches first in which runs would score - most notably any case where the BR is the 2nd out, and a 3rd (non-force) out is made anywhere else before BR (no longer a runner) reaches first.

Is this a nit? Yes ... but I understand why he wanted to clarify this for the OP.

jicecone Thu May 31, 2007 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachTom
I hope that I am not misunderstanding this forum but I am a coach for a 14U baseball team and have a question considering a ruling. The situation was bottom of 7th, 2 outs runner on third. The batter hits a ground ball to the shortstop in the hole. He fields and throws the ball to first, while he has thrown the ball the runner from third has reached home. The throw by the shortstop pulls the first basemen off the bag and he makes a tag rather then the force on the bag. Does the run score or not?


Just kind of wondering Coach, How the hell you can UNDERSTAND this forum?????


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1