![]() |
mcrowder,
I believe you and I are in "violent agreement" in regard to the question of the runner being out in the OP. I'm not exactly sure what blueump (I'm guessing that's who "BZ" refers to) is suggesting; he seems to believe that infielders get special protection from offensive interference not afforded to outfielders. Simply because a couple of rules specifically mention infielders in defining rules regarding situations where, 99%+ of the time, infielders would be the fielders involved. To my mind, the primary rules defining offensive interference are: Quote:
Quote:
These certainly aren't the only rules covering offensive interference, but to my mind, all of the other rules are just specific, representative examples of ways in which the offense might interfere, and how those situations should be ruled. JM |
Quote:
Quote:
A runner is always out if he intentionally lets himself be hit with a batted ball, whether that ball is deflected or not, whether no other fielder has a play on the ball or not. In the original post cited above, the infield is "in" (assuming again we are talking the whole infield) and has had an opportunity to make a play. If the term "make a play" is defined as the ball passing by a fielder within an arms length, then barring the runner allowing the ball to hit him intentionally, the runner is NOT out and the ball remains live. Since Evans is very careful to reference an infielder in his explanation of the rule in the JEA, whether an outfielder has a play on the ball is not relevant to the rule. If the ball passes by an infielder, meaning within arms length, and no other infielder has a chance for a play, as long as the runner doesn't intentionally let the ball hit him, the runner is NOT OUT and the ball remains live. |
Quote:
He's out! Any runner who is struck by a batted ball is out unless: 1) He was in contact with a base on an Infield Fly 2) The ball was deflected off a fielder (or umpire) 3) The ball passed within the immediate vicinity of a fielder and no other fielder had a play on the ball. Your situation doesn't seem to come under any of the above categories - so he's out. David Emerling Memphis, TN |
Quote:
RIF OBR 7.09 It is interference by a batter or a runner when -- (k)A fair ball touches him on fair territory before touching a fielder. has missed a play, then the runner shall be called out for interference. As noted, the rule, inconsistently, refers to fielder and infielder. This is one of the 230 plus error that have been identified in the rule book. The interpretation contained in the MLBUM, which is authoritative, is consistent with how this has been called for years, and years and years. How can someone who is good enough to be a major league umpire, who was trained by major league umpires, and who owns this publication continue to argue against the correct call? Amazing. |
Quote:
Jim's explanation is competely contrary to your assumption. The MLBUM ruling is competely contrary to your assumption. |
This is from my soccer days, but is appropos.
I was a HS and NCAA ref running the officials a rec tournament in my city. One of the coaches started crying about something and said "I'm a referee to. I have four cards (organizations)". I couldn't keep my laugh inside 'cause there are only THREE sanctioning organizations for soccer (USSF, NCAA, and Fed) I do yearn for the day a rat comes up to me on a ballfield with that weak stuff and I reply "well I'm a coach too so let me tell you what I thought about you sending that runner..." AH to dream. |
LakeErieUmp,
Are you sure you didn't mean to post this to a different thread? JM |
Yep, I sure did. Computer literacy is not my forte. AND I couldn't figure out how to delete and move this.
|
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
I don't know how Jim Evans explained the interference rule, but if he explained it to mean that if a batted ball passes by an infielder and contacts a runner (unintentionally), that the runner is out if an outfielder has an opportunity to play on the ball, his explanation doesn't square with what he or Jaksa/Roder wrote. Even the OBR state "infielder" in the relevant part of the rule, "that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball." I don't know how much clearer the rule can be on this? |
Quote:
Quote:
"If a fair ball goes through, or by, an infielder, and touches a runner immediately back of him, or touches the runner after having been deflected by a fielder, the umpire shall not declare the runner out for being touched by a batted ball. In making such decision the umpire must be convinced that the ball passed through, or by, the fielder, and that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball. Quote:
You know, not all of us have a list of the 230 errors that the damn book still has in it. It really pisses me off when I hear this 230 errors crap, yet every year these damn mistakes are allowed to stay in the book. I was never arguing the OP. I agree with everyone's assessment that if the ball hits the runner untouched by a fielder, then he's OUT. Where did anyone get the idea that I was arguing this? I was only correcting JM's assertion that 7.09k said "no other fielder," when it actually says "no other infielder." That is all I was saying. Now all of a sudden, you have to keep up with this crap here: Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
*yawn* Your next substantive post on most any topic will be your first one. Nice to see you see have time to troll, though. Classes (and mind) must be light this semester. |
Yes I was referring to him at ABUA. He was way too far back from the catcher. And LMan I see you like to diss as well.
|
Quote:
Date of Birth: December 7, 1987 Age: 19 Biography: I'm 19, umpire in Canada Location: Canada Interests: Wrestling, tits and wheels, baseball Occupation: Student Obviously, you are well versed in the Gerry Davis stance. For example, you are aware, of course, that the Gerry Davis Stance, which Tee was using in the photo, requires the umpire to be much farther back from the catcher, hmmmmm? You should attempt to have at least an idea of what you're talking about before you sound off. Tee's positioning in that photo is textbook for the Gerry Davis stance. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07am. |