The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 10, 2007, 11:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by w00j44
Nobody on, nobody out. BR after a D3S is not fully aware of the situation but begins to jog to first, failing to drop the bat. Catcher has trouble coming up with the baseball and BR safely crosses first base, with the bat in hand. I searched my rulebook and could find a specific ruling. Rule 9.01c states that the umpire has authority to rule on any point not specifically covered in these rules. I think I would call the runner out for disrupting the natural flow of the game but I may be missing something.. thoughts>?
Yes, 9.01(c) "states that the umpire has authority to rule on any point not specifically covered in these rules"; however, the reasons that a runner may be out IS COVERED IN THE RULES. Thus, you may not apply 9.01(c) in this instance.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8.7 SITUATION A assignmentmaker Basketball 12 Thu Oct 27, 2005 10:44am
A no win situation schwinn Football 3 Sat Oct 01, 2005 11:36am
OOB situation IURef Basketball 6 Thu Mar 04, 2004 05:46pm
TO situation ChuckElias Basketball 21 Wed Dec 04, 2002 08:54pm
DQ Situation Ron Basketball 4 Tue Nov 05, 2002 07:41am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1