The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 10:47am
BigGuy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Toss up? Obstruction and Interference on same play

B1 hits short gapper to right. R1, slower than molasses, rounds second running into an apparently oblivious F6 (obs) and continues on to 3B where throw somehow just beats him to the base. R1 does a very fumbled slide into 3B as BR, a speed burner, motors towards second. The fumbled slide goes off to the side into F5 (int) interfering with F5's ability to get a throw off to 2B and the throw just misses BR.

Ruling? Interested in finding out how many have same opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 10:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy
B1 hits short gapper to right. R1, slower than molasses, rounds second running into an apparently oblivious F6 (obs) and continues on to 3B where throw somehow just beats him to the base. R1 does a very fumbled slide into 3B as BR, a speed burner, motors towards second. The fumbled slide goes off to the side into F5 (int) interfering with F5's ability to get a throw off to 2B and the throw just misses BR.

Ruling? Interested in finding out how many have same opinion.
Why is this interference?

Given that it is (and I'm not convinced based on the description), then R1 is awarded third on the obstruction, but is out on the interference. BR returns to first.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 10:55am
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
I'd also have to see it...interference would be a tough call here (again, I didn't see it)...but yep, that's what I'd call too...then get the offensive coach and talk to him before he blows up in your face. or not? :-)
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
Is the ball still live after obstructed R1 is played on at 3B?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 11:13am
BigGuy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Why is this interference?

Given that it is (and I'm not convinced based on the description), then R1 is awarded third on the obstruction, but is out on the interference. BR returns to first.
Bob,

This is strictly theoretical. Suffice it to say that the slide hindered the throw. This is one possibility. Absent the obs - R1 makes it to 3B standing up, instead of being out. Because he is awarded 3B on the obs, he can't be called for int, unless the two events are mutually exclusive. Given that, could you not also, call out BR if you felt that there was a legitimate play?

I'm not necessarily ruling one way or the other, just trying to get a take on it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 11:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
The OBS and INT are seperate events. A runner 'protected' by OBS is not shielded against an INT call later in the play, just as the obstructed runner can be tagged out if he proceeds past his 'protected' base on his own volition.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 12:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Don't we have a dead ball the instant the obstructed runner is apparently put out? If so, there's no INT, as nothing else happened.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
Don't we have a dead ball the instant the obstructed runner is apparently put out? If so, there's no INT, as nothing else happened.
Not in FED.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 01:02pm
BigGuy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by LMan
The OBS and INT are seperate events. A runner 'protected' by OBS is not shielded against an INT call later in the play, just as the obstructed runner can be tagged out if he proceeds past his 'protected' base on his own volition.
If the two events are mutually exclusive and you call int on R1, if, in your opinion, the BR could have been thrown out at 2B absent the int, could you not also call out the BR at second. I didn't see anbody answer that.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
You can call 2 IF you are certain that the INT prevented a double play. I would submit that this bar is set very, very high, however.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 19, 2007, 09:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy
If the two events are mutually exclusive and you call int on R1, if, in your opinion, the BR could have been thrown out at 2B absent the int, could you not also call out the BR at second. I didn't see anbody answer that.
In the OP, no, you can't have 2 outs because there was no double play available. The lead runner was safe on the OBS, and if he then interferes with a play on the only other runner, I can't see how you can get more than one out here.

As for the OP, it is apparent that there are two differing codes regarding OBS:

1. Call DDB. Let play continue until all action is over.

2. Call DDB. Let play continue until all action is over OR the obstructed runner is put out before his/her protection is removed.

In the former, the lead runner would be out on INT and the other returned to 1B.

In the latter, the play would be killed as soon as the lead runner was 'out'. Runners would then be awarded bases. Since the ball was dead, there was no INT, so no outs.

Personally, the latter makes more sense to me.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 04:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigGuy
and continues on to 3B where throw somehow just beats him to the base.

Once he is "out" at third, call time, and "award" him third base on the obstruction. All other runners return to the last base they occupied when you called time. Now there is no interference because the ball has become dead.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 04:14pm
Stop staring at me swan.
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,974
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTex
Once he is "out" at third, call time, and "award" him third base on the obstruction. All other runners return to the last base they occupied when you called time. Now there is no interference because the ball has become dead.
This is also the correct ruling in an OBS situation. Sorry Tex...I read your post after posting my previous post. Nice job on explaining the mechanic. A scenario similar to this is on page 49 of the PBUC manual.
__________________
It's like Deja Vu all over again
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 04:56pm
BigGuy
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTex
Once he is "out" at third, call time, and "award" him third base on the obstruction. All other runners return to the last base they occupied when you called time. Now there is no interference because the ball has become dead.
Big Tex - given your scenario - when did the ball become dead? According to FED in OBS, it's a delayed dead ball and the play is not killed until all playing action has stopped, then time is called and bases awarded. See example from CB 8.3.2 Situation A

RULING: Umpire shall signal a delayed dead ball when the infraction by F5 occurs. At the conclusion of playing action, he declares the ball dead, then awards home to R1 and allows R2 to remain at third.

The play is not the same, but the mechanics of calling DDB should be. Thoughts, anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 18, 2007, 05:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Big,

If this were an OBR game then Tex has given you the proper call. What started out as type B obstruction became type A as soon as R1 was played upon. This is a dead ball and R1 is awarded third. All other runners are awarded bases, if any, that will nullify the act of obstruction.


Tim.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
obstruction/interference ggk Baseball 4 Mon Aug 21, 2006 10:13pm
Obstruction, Interference, Double Play???? JRSooner Baseball 3 Thu Apr 06, 2006 02:02am
Obstruction or interference akalsey Baseball 6 Mon Jun 21, 2004 08:00am
Obstruction or Interference sprivitor Softball 4 Sat May 24, 2003 10:41am
Weird Obstruction/Interference Play gmtomko Baseball 11 Thu Apr 24, 2003 05:36am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1