The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 16, 2007, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
[QUOTE=Always Wright]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Ives
In the lemon squeeze, R3 had already scored at the time the ball hit him so he's safe. The ball touched a player while over fair territory so it's fair. You don't call anyting on plate-tangles so if F2 tagged the B-R he's out.

Rich,

What rules are you talking about? I believe in OBR, R3 would be out and BR awarded first base.

7.09 "It is interference by a batter or a runner when -
(k) A fair ball touches him over fair territory..."
2.00 Definitions "A runner is an offensive player who is advancing to, or touching, or returning to any base."

The way I am envisioning the play, R3 is hit with a fair ball while advancing to or touching home plate. It seems according to the rules above, R3 is guilty of interference and should be called out. Could you please cite the rule that exempts him from this call because he has already scored?

Thanks.

Chris Wright
He had already touched home plate at the time he was hit. He was no longer a runner at the time he was hit. (and the run was legally scored and thus cannot be unscored)
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1