![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
In the grapefruit squeeze, the out WAS called for interference. Runners return to the base legally touched AT THE TIME OF THE INTERFERENCE. In this case at that time they had scored. Runs score.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If the last runner scored before the interference, then how can you have interference? No play, no call. What am I missing? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Bases were loaded. R3 and R2 scored. Interference at the plate by the batter on the throw to get R1.
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong Last edited by Rich Ives; Mon Apr 16, 2007 at 11:24am. |
|
|||
|
This is what happens when you ask people to comment on a play ... and don't post the play.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong Last edited by Rich Ives; Mon Apr 16, 2007 at 12:08pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The way I read it the first time the only two runners on scored. |
|
|||
|
[QUOTE=Rich Ives]In the lemon squeeze, R3 had already scored at the time the ball hit him so he's safe. The ball touched a player while over fair territory so it's fair. You don't call anyting on plate-tangles so if F2 tagged the B-R he's out.
Rich, What rules are you talking about? I believe in OBR, R3 would be out and BR awarded first base. 7.09 "It is interference by a batter or a runner when - (k) A fair ball touches him over fair territory..." 2.00 Definitions "A runner is an offensive player who is advancing to, or touching, or returning to any base." The way I am envisioning the play, R3 is hit with a fair ball while advancing to or touching home plate. It seems according to the rules above, R3 is guilty of interference and should be called out. Could you please cite the rule that exempts him from this call because he has already scored? Thanks. Chris Wright |
|
|||
|
[QUOTE=Always Wright]
Quote:
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
|
|||
|
[quote=Rich Ives]In the grapefruit squeeze, the out WAS called for interference. Runners return to the base legally touched AT THE TIME OF THE INTERFERENCE. In this case at that time they had scored. Runs score.
Rich, I believe in OBR, a new rule change was added this year. Rule 2.00 (Interference) Comment: In the event the batter-runner has not reached first base, all runners shall return to the base last occupied at the time of the pitch. The way I am envisioning the play, B/R is hit with a thrown ball while interfereing with a fielder's attempt to make a play. It seems according to the rules above, batter is guilty of interference and should be called out. Could you please cite the rule that exempts all runners whom have already scored? Thanks. SAump, aka Not Alwaysright |
|
|||
|
[QUOTE=SAump]
Quote:
Anyhow, he's not the batter-runner - he's still the batter so the comment doesn't apply. Back to 2.00 Interference (a) - all other runners shall return to the last base that was in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong Last edited by Rich Ives; Mon Apr 16, 2007 at 09:40pm. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|