The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Two questions from a coach please... (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/33598-two-questions-coach-please.html)

MarionTiger Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:09pm

Two questions from a coach please...
 
11yo Super Series League Game...

Coaches of defensive team are sitting on buckets in front of dugout (man I hate that). Runner advances to third on a shallow hit to center. Runner is safely at third before throw gets to third. Third-baseman misses throw and the ball hits the bucket that defensive coach is sitting on. Runner advances free of risk?

I'm not clear on a visit to the pitcher rule reminded to me tonight. Nowhere in MLB rules, or in SS modifications do I see where you only get two "free" visits to the mound in a game, and thereafter all visits must result in a pitcher replacement. I'm sure I'm missing that somewhere...but where?

thanks in advance,

MT

Rich Ives Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MarionTiger
11yo Super Series League Game...

Coaches of defensive team are sitting on buckets in front of dugout (man I hate that). Runner advances to third on a shallow hit to center. Runner is safely at third before throw gets to third. Third-baseman misses throw and the ball hits the bucket that defensive coach is sitting on. Runner advances free of risk?

I'm not clear on a visit to the pitcher rule reminded to me tonight. Nowhere in MLB rules, or in SS modifications do I see where you only get two "free" visits to the mound in a game, and thereafter all visits must result in a pitcher replacement. I'm sure I'm missing that somewhere...but where?

thanks in advance,

MT



Superseries baseball uses MLB pitching rules. The rule you quoted is a high school rule and does not apply.

Per the rules posted at superseriesbaseball.com:

4.27 PITCHING LIMITATIONS:
NONE. Per Sporting News rules, pitchers must be removed upon the second visit to the mound or field by any coach in the same inning. If a coach calls time, and crosses the foul line to confer with any player, this shall be considered a visit for that inning.

justanotherblue Wed Apr 11, 2007 11:30pm

to your first question....runner is skipping his way along to home. Coach shouldn't be there, and if they are, they should be moving off their fat a$$es if and when any ball comes their way. Allowing them there is another topic all together.

part two...ahhh WHAT??? Your visits depend on your rule set your playing under. NFHS 3-4-1/NCAA 9-4-a, you get three free trips, after three, then pitcher has to be removed. If you remove you pitcher each trip.. you still have all three, it's only a trip if you don't remove your pitcher OBR 8.06, you get one trip per inning, make a second one, and he's done. I'm not familiar with SS modifications so your on your own there.

justanotherblue Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:00am

Screwed that one up.... sorry... a second trip to the same pitcher in the same inning in NCAA and he's done also, a coach may have three free trips to the same pitcher in a game, then he must be removed. DAmn... messed that one up

GarthB Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by justanotherblue
Screwed that one up.... sorry... a second trip to the same pitcher in the same inning in NCAA and he's done also, a coach may have three free trips to the same pitcher in a game, then he must be removed. DAmn... messed that one up


Keep trying.

w_sohl Thu Apr 12, 2007 02:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by justanotherblue
Screwed that one up.... sorry... a second trip to the same pitcher in the same inning in NCAA and he's done also, a coach may have three free trips to the same pitcher in a game, then he must be removed. DAmn... messed that one up

NFHS= (2) free trips, removal on third and each subsequent trip. These are trips per game and not per pitcher.

SanDiegoSteve Thu Apr 12, 2007 02:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by w_sohl
NFHS= (2) free trips, removal on third and each subsequent trip. These are trips per game and not per pitcher.

He was referring to NCAA rules.

w_sohl Thu Apr 12, 2007 02:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
He was referring to NCAA rules.

Yep, I'm a moron who only reads what he wants. Plain as day that he was refering to NCAA and I make a stupid comment. My appologies, I really feel like an idiot now.

SanDiegoSteve Thu Apr 12, 2007 02:42am

I didn't post it to make you feel like an idiot. If you want to, you can delete the post, I'll delete both of mine, and we'll pretend it never happened. We are the only two up this late anyway!

etn_ump Thu Apr 12, 2007 06:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by w_sohl
NFHS= (2) free trips, removal on third and each subsequent trip. These are trips per game and not per pitcher.

Wrong, 3 free, removal on 4th.

MarionTiger Thu Apr 12, 2007 09:46am

Thanks for all of your responses.
 
The bucket thing is obvious to me, but I cannot find a rule on it.

On the pitcher replacement, I certainly could have phrased it better. I think I have the answer I was looking for now, thanks. Per MLB/SS rules, there is no limit on how many times I can visit the mound without removing the pitcher, per game. Per pitcher per inning, sure, but there is no limit on how many times per game...

Also, we continuously run into instances where the line-up provided to us has either the wrong name, or number. When I appeal to the home umpire that the number is wrong, I almost always get, "well, the name is right though, so it is okay." Well, not every team has names on the jerseys. It amazes me how much we run into this, and further amazes me how it doesn't matter. It doesn't make me mad because this is just 11yo travel ball, but at some point, it will matter I hope. Otherwise, why do we need a line up at all?

thanks again...

bob jenkins Thu Apr 12, 2007 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MarionTiger
Also, we continuously run into instances where the line-up provided to us has either the wrong name, or number. When I appeal to the home umpire that the number is wrong, I almost always get, "well, the name is right though, so it is okay." Well, not every team has names on the jerseys. It amazes me how much we run into this, and further amazes me how it doesn't matter.

I'm not quite sure what your point is here, but this is the rule -- it's the name that matters, not the number.

MarionTiger Thu Apr 12, 2007 10:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I'm not quite sure what your point is here, but this is the rule -- it's the name that matters, not the number.

Okay, thanks. So without names on the jerseys, how is this verified? I've been in the other situation as well, where the number was right, but the name on the line up card did not match the name on the jersey, and was told the number was what mattered. Is it so difficult to have ALL of the information correct? I must admit, I have not looked very hard for a written rule on this, but will do so. Seems a given the accuracy of this would be mandatory.

LMan Thu Apr 12, 2007 11:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MarionTiger
Okay, thanks. So without names on the jerseys, how is this verified?

I suggest a 'retina scan'. But seriously, does your league have an issue with 11 year old kids running around under assumed names? Call the kid's name loudly, and see who turns around....

Quote:


I've been in the other situation as well, where the number was right, but the name on the line up card did not match the name on the jersey, and was told the number was what mattered.

That's incorrect, as was pointed out earlier.


Quote:

Is it so difficult to have ALL of the information correct? I must admit, I have not looked very hard for a written rule on this, but will do so. Seems a given the accuracy of this would be mandatory.
Well, you sometimes have kids who show up without a jersey and borrow one, etc. But that's an issue for your league and your coaches. The umpire should check over the lineup at the plate meeting for duplicate numbers, names, etc. But if the numbers and names don't conflict on the lineup but there's still an error, that's all he can do at that time. He ain't going to the dugout to check IDs.

archangel Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:19pm

Re; the coach on the bucket...depending on the rule set, if the runner was standing on 3rd(not trying to advance) when the ball hit the bucket, and runner then didnt try to advance- I'd have nothing........I'd give the runner home if there was any chance that said runner was trying to advance, or in a position to(off bag between 3rd and home/watching the throw)- no advantage given to defense by me sending the runner back to 3rd.....

Jerry Thu Apr 12, 2007 12:58pm

Archangel:
There are a couple of rules and guidance documents, at least in OBR and possibly in FED as well. "If a ball strikes a piece of equipment that is on LBT (usually the lip or top step of a dugout), and such ball would have entered DBT absent the contact with such equipment, then the ball is considered to have entered DBT." (OBR)

"If equipment left lying on LBT alters a play in favor of the offending team, the umpires are authorized to nullify the advantage by awarding bases, declaring outs, returning runners, etc." (FED)

Jerry

mcrowder Thu Apr 12, 2007 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by archangel
Re; the coach on the bucket...depending on the rule set, if the runner was standing on 3rd(not trying to advance) when the ball hit the bucket, and runner then didnt try to advance- I'd have nothing........I'd give the runner home if there was any chance that said runner was trying to advance, or in a position to(off bag between 3rd and home/watching the throw)- no advantage given to defense by me sending the runner back to 3rd.....

Or if the ball striking the bucket prevented it from going out of play ... I'd give the base.

w_sohl Thu Apr 12, 2007 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
I didn't post it to make you feel like an idiot. If you want to, you can delete the post, I'll delete both of mine, and we'll pretend it never happened. We are the only two up this late anyway!

I know you wern't trying to make me feel like an idiot, I did that on my own :p . We'll leave the posts, it will be a reminder that I should read the entire post before commenting.

justanotherblue Thu Apr 12, 2007 03:48pm

Steve and Sohl... feel like an idiot, ahhhhh GUILTY... your right sohl... read it all, I briefly read 9-4a, saw the three free trips, posted it, then said to self...that can't be right, that's why I went back and added the second post. I knew better, read the three visits....thought..hmmm....posted...said to self, that can't be right...read on... and oops....:o

w_sohl Thu Apr 12, 2007 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justanotherblue
Steve and Sohl... feel like an idiot, ahhhhh GUILTY... your right sohl... read it all, I briefly read 9-4a, saw the three free trips, posted it, then said to self...that can't be right, that's why I went back and added the second post. I knew better, read the three visits....thought..hmmm....posted...said to self, that can't be right...read on... and oops....:o

Actually, I was corrected. For FED, it is (3) free trips and removal on 4th and subsequent trips. Is NCAA different?

BigGuy Thu Apr 12, 2007 04:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MarionTiger
Okay, thanks. So without names on the jerseys, how is this verified? I've been in the other situation as well, where the number was right, but the name on the line up card did not match the name on the jersey, and was told the number was what mattered. Is it so difficult to have ALL of the information correct? I must admit, I have not looked very hard for a written rule on this, but will do so. Seems a given the accuracy of this would be mandatory.

Case book 1-1-3 Situation, page 4

1.1.3 SITUATION: F4, Brown, listed in the batting order as wearing uniform No. 4, is wearing No. 21. After reaching base in the third inning, defensive coach appeals to the umpire that Brown is batting out of order. RULING: While Brown is in technical violation of the rule that requires that player's name, shirt number and position be on the lineup card, there is no penalty, since the batting-out-of-order rule requires only that the name be in the proper order. If the number was correct but the player batting was not Brown, the batting-out-of-order penalty would be imposed. Listing of both numbers and positions provides easier recordkeeping for scorekeepers and umpires.

bob jenkins Thu Apr 12, 2007 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by w_sohl
Actually, I was corrected. For FED, it is (3) free trips and removal on 4th and subsequent trips. Is NCAA different?

Slightly. In FED, the team can use the three trips anytime (in regulation). In NCAA, a second trip to the same pitcher int he same inning causes the removal, and the second trip can't occur with the same batter.

In extra innings, FED gets one trip per inning (not one trip per pitcher per inning) and unused trips from regulation do not carry over. In NCAA, teh team gets one extra trip if the game goes to extra innings, and unused trips do carry over.

MarionTiger Thu Apr 12, 2007 05:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LMan
I suggest a 'retina scan'. But seriously, does your league have an issue with 11 year old kids running around under assumed names? Call the kid's name loudly, and see who turns around....


Well, you sometimes have kids who show up without a jersey and borrow one, etc. But that's an issue for your league and your coaches. The umpire should check over the lineup at the plate meeting for duplicate numbers, names, etc. But if the numbers and names don't conflict on the lineup but there's still an error, that's all he can do at that time. He ain't going to the dugout to check IDs.

So why have numbers at all?

Seriously, I said I wasn't mad about it.

MarionTiger Thu Apr 12, 2007 05:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by archangel
Re; the coach on the bucket...depending on the rule set, if the runner was standing on 3rd(not trying to advance) when the ball hit the bucket, and runner then didnt try to advance- I'd have nothing........I'd give the runner home if there was any chance that said runner was trying to advance, or in a position to(off bag between 3rd and home/watching the throw)- no advantage given to defense by me sending the runner back to 3rd.....

Not seeing where the ball would have gone to, how would you know if the runner could advance. As the third base coach in this situation, I can tell you that depending on the riccochet off the fence, we may have tried it.

After this game, the umpire advised me that he should have given the runner the base. But it did not matter ultimately.

DG Thu Apr 12, 2007 07:30pm

Someone point me to a rule that mentions the bucket please?

bossman72 Thu Apr 12, 2007 07:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jerry
Archangel:
There are a couple of rules and guidance documents, at least in OBR and possibly in FED as well. "If a ball strikes a piece of equipment that is on LBT (usually the lip or top step of a dugout), and such ball would have entered DBT absent the contact with such equipment, then the ball is considered to have entered DBT." (OBR)

Jerry

Jerry, where did you find this OBR ruling?

UmpJM Thu Apr 12, 2007 08:01pm

DG,

Under OBR, the following works for me:

Quote:

3.14
Members of the offensive team shall carry all gloves and other equipment off the field and to the dugout while their team is at bat. No equipment shall be left lying on the field, either in fair or foul territory.
Under FED, I think 1-3-7 does the trick:

Quote:

...Loose equipment, such as gloves, bats, helmets or catcher's gear, of either team may not be on or near the field.
Penalty: If loose equipment interferes with play, the umpire may call an out(s), award bases or return runners, based on his judgment and the circumstances concerning the play.
Edited to add, in response to bossman's query:

From the JEA discsussion of 3.14:

Quote:

Customs and Usage: Umpires should monitor the area in front of the dugouts and insure that gloves and
equipment are not left lying on the playing field. Equipment lying on the "lip" of the dugout is legal but a thrown ball
that strikes it is considered "in the dugout".
JM

DG Thu Apr 12, 2007 10:12pm

JM

3.14 carrys no penalty.

1-3-7 provides for umpire to use judgement.

JEA comment on 3.14 allows me to rule that a thrown ball was prevented from entering the dugout by a glove on the lip of the dugout so I should rule it would have entered the dugout and thus DBT and award bases accordingly.

Now let's say the runner rounded 3B, did not appear to have any intention
of going home on the overthrow, the ball bounces off the bucket. Unless hitting the bucket prevented the ball from entering DBT, I have nothing. I don't see an "automatic" on this in OBR or FED.

Of course OBR is not going to cover coaches sitting on buckets outside the dugout because it ain't happening, and shouldn't happen in FED, so the rules can't completely cover stuff that ain't supposed to be happening.

UmpJM Thu Apr 12, 2007 10:30pm

DG,

I believe we are on the same page on this question. If I'm the umpire, all of the benefit of the doubt is going in favor of the team whose coach wasn't sitting on a bucket outside the dugout.

JM

w_sohl Thu Apr 12, 2007 10:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachJM
DG,

I believe we are on the same page on this question. If I'm the umpire, all of the benefit of the doubt is going in favor of the team whose coach wasn't sitting on a bucket outside the dugout.

JM

All we have to do as umpires is award the appropriate team and it will start to curtail the practice real quick, this is if they refuse to comply to your request to move into the dugout of course.

DG Thu Apr 12, 2007 11:22pm

It's a hypothetical rules question, because I don't allow coaches to sit in front of the dugout on buckets.

BigGuy Fri Apr 13, 2007 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG
JM

1-3-7 provides for umpire to use judgement.

Now let's say the runner rounded 3B, did not appear to have any intention
of going home on the overthrow, the ball bounces off the bucket. Unless hitting the bucket prevented the ball from entering DBT, I have nothing. I don't see an "automatic" on this in OBR or FED.

The bucket does not have to prevent the ball from going in DBT - the question is what might have happened if the bucket wasn't there. If not hitting the bucket could have allowed the runner to advence as opposed to the ball bouncing off the bucket towards HP giving the defense an advantage, then you can award HP. For example, if the ball doesn't hit the bucket, maybe it rolls to the fence where a fielder has to run 40 feet further away from HP as opposed to the ball bouncing off the bucket 20 feet closer to HP. It's still a judgment as to whether the bucket had any effect.

The closest thing I can find to it is the CB 1-3-7 Situation B. Not exact, but close enough to give you the idea.

DG Sat Apr 14, 2007 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigGuy
The bucket does not have to prevent the ball from going in DBT - the question is what might have happened if the bucket wasn't there. If not hitting the bucket could have allowed the runner to advence as opposed to the ball bouncing off the bucket towards HP giving the defense an advantage, then you can award HP. For example, if the ball doesn't hit the bucket, maybe it rolls to the fence where a fielder has to run 40 feet further away from HP as opposed to the ball bouncing off the bucket 20 feet closer to HP. It's still a judgment as to whether the bucket had any effect.

The closest thing I can find to it is the CB 1-3-7 Situation B. Not exact, but close enough to give you the idea.

Like I said, judgement. That means there is no automatic award as was previously suggested. Keep them in the dugout and you don't have this issue.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1