![]() |
Legal or Illegal Pitch?
R3 is attempting to steal home;the pitcher steps off the rubber to throw home. The catcher reaches towards the ball and the batter swings at which he hits the catcher. Dead ball: Illegal Pitch, Award BR first and return R3?
|
Quote:
Not illegal pitch. (Not a pitch at all - a throw from a fielder to another fielder). What do you call it when an offensive player hinders the defensive player's ability to catch a thrown ball? |
Quote:
Caution. If he legally stepped off it MAY br OK. But if his motion makes it look like a pitch he may have violated 8.05 If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when -- (g) The pitcher makes any motion naturally associated with his pitch while he is not touching the pitcher’s plate; |
Quote:
Don't read more into the post than what is written. As soon as F1 removes his foot from the rubber, he becomes a fielder and the throw home becomes a legitimate play at HP on R3. The only ruling in this situation is interference on the part of the batter. Depending on the number of outs either batter or runner are out. |
Quote:
So we just ignore 8.05(g)? Where does it say we should do that? It actually got called a balk against Ramiro Mendoza (Red Sox) in a game against the Yankees. He stepped back then went through his normal from-set motion. |
Then he deserved the balk. Who (among sentient beings) disengages legally, then does a wind-up before he tries to cut down a runner at the plate?
|
Quote:
Otherwise, as you've said above...interference on the batter. Guess you'd HTBT in the OP sitch. |
Quote:
Yes, Rich, unless the poster tell us that the pitcher threw in a manner that resembled his pitching delivery, we ignore 8.05 (g). It doesn't come into play. |
Quote:
BTW Garth, your simple "Why?" post seems to have blocked follow up posts, at least on my computer. |
Rich,
You are not the only one. Actually people can still make additional posts, and they're there - you (I) just can't see them. I've sent Garth a PM with a suggested resolution. I believe he was working a game this afternoon, so it may be awhile before he's able to fix it. JM |
If he stepped off it is not a pitch. I would not call the balk because he is now infielder in the act of making a play on the runner. I would assum this means he hurried to make the throw home and did not wind up. If that is the case then you may get away with calling the balk but be ready for both coaches to come out.
As long as the pitcher clearly stepped off, then you have a batter interfering with a thrown ball. BR is out and R3 goes back to third. |
Agree w/ BigGuy
A.The pitcher threw the ball home w/out a normal delivery towards the plate.
B. There was one out w/runner on second. The UIC said that he threw home and it was consider a illegal pitch that the batter has the right to hit like a balk pitch. Award BR first and return R3. I called int on the batter. F1 is now consider a fielder making a play @home. |
with none or one out, isn't R3 out? w/ 2outs the batter is out for the 3rd out. correct?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:18am. |