The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Does this run score? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/33119-does-run-score.html)

monfanz Mon Mar 26, 2007 10:40am

Does this run score?
 
Hey all,

I'm a basketball official and was watching my nephew's baseball game the other day. I have a situation that I would like clarification on:

Runners on 1st and 3rd, one out. Batter hits a fly ball to right field which is caught. RF throws the ball back to first and get the runner at first. Before he is out, however, the runner on 3rd tagged up and scored. Does that run count? Umps said yes....

bluezebra Mon Mar 26, 2007 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by monfanz
Hey all,

I'm a basketball official and was watching my nephew's baseball game the other day. I have a situation that I would like clarification on:

Runners on 1st and 3rd, one out. Batter hits a fly ball to right field which is caught. RF throws the ball back to first and get the runner at first. Before he is out, however, the runner on 3rd tagged up and scored. Does that run count? Umps said yes....

The umps were correct. This is a "timing play", not a force out. In this situation, if the runner touches home BEFORE the third out is made, the run COUNTS.

It's different if the third out is made on the batter-runner before reaching 1B, or is a force out (runner on 1B forced out at 2B), the run does not score.

Bob

Rich Ives Mon Mar 26, 2007 10:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by monfanz
Hey all,

I'm a basketball official and was watching my nephew's baseball game the other day. I have a situation that I would like clarification on:

Runners on 1st and 3rd, one out. Batter hits a fly ball to right field which is caught. RF throws the ball back to first and get the runner at first. Before he is out, however, the runner on 3rd tagged up and scored. Does that run count? Umps said yes....

The umps were correct.

The appeal at first is NOT a force out.

GarthB Mon Mar 26, 2007 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by monfanz
Hey all,

I'm a basketball official and was watching my nephew's baseball game the other day. I have a situation that I would like clarification on:

Runners on 1st and 3rd, one out. Batter hits a fly ball to right field which is caught. RF throws the ball back to first and get the runner at first. Before he is out, however, the runner on 3rd tagged up and scored. Does that run count? Umps said yes....

First, the umpires were correct, the run scores.

You'll often hear two different terms when an explanation is given: Time or Timing Play and Appeal Play.

The out at first was an appeal play. The fielders were, in effect, appealing that runner left early. Since he had not completed his return when they affected the appeal, he is out. This is not conisdered a force out.

The relationship between when R3 touches home and the successful appeal at first is what we call a time or timing play. If the run scores first, it counts. If the out occurs first, the run does not count.

canablue05 Thu Mar 29, 2007 01:50am

just to add fuel to the fire...

what happens if R3 left early?

waltjp Thu Mar 29, 2007 06:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by canablue05
just to add fuel to the fire...

what happens if R3 left early?

If the defense properly appeals R3 leaving early his run will not count.

mcrowder Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by canablue05
just to add fuel to the fire...

what happens if R3 left early?

What fire? (And I wouldn't call this softball "Fuel"). Even the most rudimentary umpire (and probably most fans with no training at all) will get this one right.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1