The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   2007 Part 2 Exam (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/32935-2007-part-2-exam.html)

ctblu40 Wed Mar 21, 2007 04:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
#50--"A pitcher may attempt a legal pick-off from both the windup and set position." Now I said True while thinking you can step off the rubber. I could not find any direct language saying this was false. I am still looking.

FYI- Look at 6.1.2 "With his feet in the windup position, the pitcher may only deliver a pitch or step backward of the pitcher's plate with his pivot foot first."

I suppose that this is the the reason you got it wrong, he cant pick off a runner while in contact. You know the correct ruling, but missed the question. No sweat.

UmpJM Wed Mar 21, 2007 05:12pm

Jeff,

Quote:

#74--"When no appeal has been made on an improper batter, the next batter shall be the batter whose name follows that of the proper batter who should have been at bat."
I would say this is false. If no appeal of the improper batter is (ever) made, the improper batter's at bat is "legitimized". Therefore, the next batter should be the the player whose name follows that of the improper batter who actually was at bat and was not appealed.

JM

JRutledge Wed Mar 21, 2007 06:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ctblu40
FYI- Look at 6.1.2 "With his feet in the windup position, the pitcher may only deliver a pitch or step backward of the pitcher's plate with his pivot foot first."

I suppose that this is the the reason you got it wrong, he cant pick off a runner while in contact. You know the correct ruling, but missed the question. No sweat.

I agree, but that is not how I was looking at it. I guess I would have liked it if they said, "While in contact with the rubber." But you can step back legally and try to pick off someone. As you said no sweat. You live and learn.

Peace

bossman72 Wed Mar 21, 2007 11:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
I agree, but that is not how I was looking at it. I guess I would have liked it if they said, "While in contact with the rubber." But you can step back legally and try to pick off someone. As you said no sweat. You live and learn.

Peace

If you think about it, if you step off the rubber, you're not in ANY position, so stepping off the rubber shouldn't have been considered in the question.

Also Jeff, if you did get a copy of the test and answers, could you send me a pm?

Don't worry. I live in PA where it's "one and done." (You take your test when you initially start umpiring and you never have to re-test your entire officiating career).

bob jenkins Thu Mar 22, 2007 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge
I agree, but that is not how I was looking at it. I guess I would have liked it if they said, "While in contact with the rubber." But you can step back legally and try to pick off someone. As you said no sweat. You live and learn.

Peace

Once F1 steps back, he's not in the wind-up position. So, by specifying the positions in the question, FED *was* stating that F1 was on the rubber.

JRutledge Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:13pm

That is still semantics if you ask me.

Peace

bigda65 Thu Mar 22, 2007 01:49pm

So a jab step move "from the windup", is only considered a pickoff from the rubber when awarding bases on an overthrow, but not considered a pickoff move from the rubber?

now im confused!!

ctblu40 Thu Mar 22, 2007 05:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigda65
So a jab step move "from the windup", is only considered a pickoff from the rubber when awarding bases on an overthrow, but not considered a pickoff move from the rubber?

now im confused!!

This one's simple...
In FED a "jab step" move to pick off a runner from the windup position is illegal, and a balk.
Don't be confused. In FED, a pitcher in the windup position on the rubber can either start his winup and deliver to the batter, or step off the rubber with his pivot foot first.

bob jenkins Thu Mar 22, 2007 06:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigda65
So a jab step move "from the windup", is only considered a pickoff from the rubber when awarding bases on an overthrow, but not considered a pickoff move from the rubber?

now im confused!!

Who said this, and what is a "jab step from the wind up?"

In any event, a jab step is not a legal disengagement (which only occurs by stepping abck off the rubber), so all the "on the rubber" rules apply.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1