![]() |
Mechanics
Asked by a poster on another board that I moderate.
"Runner on 1st. Ball hit into the gap. Runner at 1st comes around and slides into 3rd. Base umpire calls him out. Coach argues and says that's not his call, that he should be following the trail runner(the batter) and that it was the home plate ump's call. Of course, the play stood. What are the mechanics for this call/who's call is it?" Thanks fellas. Have a good season! |
CCABUM, Page 72-73
Coach has a small bone to pick. I can only guess it is there to keeps us on our toes. Different mechanic with R1 and R2.
{Edited to delete: Now if it were any other manual, PBUC for example,} I believe an alternative would have the BU takes the first play in the infield. PU then stays home for possible play at the plate and partner should take the play into 3B; while also glancing back at B/R's touch at 1B and continuation to 2B. This is the CCABUM mechanic on a clean hit to the outfield with R1 and R2 described on page 82. Then to keep us on our toes again, a similar mechanic to the one you described is used on a caught fly ball to center field with R1 and R2 found on page 83. Nothing is said about a fly ball to left but I suppose it is the same mechanic and these two mechanics change on a fly ball to right. |
1) BU unless you have worked out something else with your partner.
2) Thank you for that inspirational message Coach, now go back to your dugout. |
Unless I am reading this wrong. With a runner on first only, It would be the plate umpires call. He should rotate up and go into third when the ball and the runner take him in. He should also let his partner know that he is coming up the line and then into the play. However, if the base ump continues into the play, the plate ump should just start moving back to the plate and have a little talk with him later on. This is PBUC, CCA, and high school mechanics.
|
PU parallels the 3B line in foul territory until he is sure R1 is coming to 3B, then moves into fair territory with a good angle to 3B to make the call. BU has tags at 2B and 1B and anything else that happens at 2B and 1B. If I see my partner moving toward 3B I will holler out that I have 3B, but since I always cover this situation in pre-game it's not normally necessary. If I am working bases I generally point toward 3B with my left hand and my back toward home to remind my partner (don't always work with the same guys).
I don't think the manuals disagree on this. |
Definitely the PU call!!! But, if I am the PU and the BU followed him in, I am backing out!
Usually the argument from the coach is because the opposit (the right way) happening! LOL Now go back to your pathetic NFHS BBS! ;) |
Quote:
|
Regardless of the mechanics being followed, the coach has NO BUSINESS (or standing) to question or object to who made what call on any play on the bases. This is solely a matter for the umpires' concern.
JM |
Do the math, ball hit into gap
Quote:
OP did not state entire story, HTBT. One could only imagine where the PU was at the time. R1 should have been standing UP safely at 3B on any ball hit into the gap 95% of the time, if not trying to score. Suggests PU stayed HOME for possible play at the plate. The call at 3B then belongs to BU's unless PU calls him OFF of it. PU hustling back to cover the plate presents about as difficult a challenge as BU going to 3B first, and then to 2B. One of them isn't tired and lugging around equipment either. PRO guys believe the PU's primary responsibility is at the PLATE. It looks bad if PU goes out toward 3B and then comes hustling back to the plate. Not to be confused, it is much easier for the BU to take the play into 3B from straight LF and straight CF. PU taking the play at 3B is the advanced mechanic written in the manuals and being taught in the clinics. This point has already been stated several times. Young guns have the edge in 2-man. Advised to do whatever association/level dictates. |
Quote:
With R1 and a clean hit to the outfield, PU comes up the third base line in foul territory to the library telling his partner "I've got third if he comes." If R1 continues past second and there appears to be a play building, (remember it takes the ball and a runner to make a play), PU moves into fair territory and to the cut out telling his partner, "I've got third, I've got third." If no play is going to be made, PU announces "I'm going home." and glances at the touch at third as he goes back to the plate. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
This is a perfect example of why you do not listen to what coaches say. ;)
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Thanks for the replies, fellas. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27pm. |