The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 22, 2007, 12:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Upstate SC
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by DG
It has not been explained that way here. If a pitcher is on the rubber and goes to his mouth it's a BALL, regardless of whether we have runners, or if he wipes afterward.

If he is in contact with the rubber with runner on, has his hands together and separates to go to his mouth, it's a balk, not becuase he went to his mouth but because he separated his hands after coming set.

It is clear FED wants to be more lenient with pitchers who go to their mouth, but why I don't know.
This is the way we had it "FED" to us in our rules interpretation meeting with the SCHSL. We all agreed it was poorly written, but any going to the mouth that doesn't also involve another illegal act shall result in a ball being added to the count. The addition of another illegal act (such as the separation of hands after coming set without delivering the pitch) would constitute a balk.

And, if somebody starts whipping off on MY field, they can stay in the dugout and take care of that!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 22, 2007, 09:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Here's the story I got...

Our local association's rule interpretor followed-up with the state and national NFHS representatives to help clarify this point. Much of the confusion stems from the fact that the Case Book play covering this is in error. The same incorrect Case Book play was distributed in the NFHS "Preseason" baseball packets widely distributed to its members.

- Case Book play 6.2.1 situation A, part (b) is incorrect.

This example play states that a pitcher going to the mouth while engaged on the rubber is illegal.

That was the ruling for previous years. That Case Book play was inadvertantly left in the book and is in direct conflict with the 2007 rule change. The error was not discovered until the Case Books had been printed and distributed.

- The 2007 interpretations on the NFHS website are correct and reflect how this rule should be called.

The two examples where an engaged pitcher goes to his mouth and a balk is subsequently called involve the pitcher doing something else that is a balkable offense.

For example, after coming set with his hands together, the pitcher separates the hands to lick his fingers. It is a balk because of the hand separation, not for going to the mouth while in contact with the rubber.

- The correct ruling for 2007 is that a pitcher engaged on the rubber may go to the mouth.

If he wipes off there is no penalty. If he fails to wipe, the ball is dead and the penalty is a ball added to the batter's count. This is no longer enforced as a balk.

Last edited by BretMan; Thu Feb 22, 2007 at 01:32pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keep Your Mouth Shut! TXMike Football 1 Sat Sep 09, 2006 06:58pm
going to mouth smoump Baseball 15 Thu Mar 23, 2006 04:09pm
from the mouth of coaches..... ChrisSportsFan Basketball 19 Fri Dec 02, 2005 05:54pm
Out of the Mouth of Coaches iref4him Basketball 2 Fri Jan 21, 2005 09:22am
pitcher goes to his mouth without wiping it off coachnatte Baseball 5 Thu Jun 05, 2003 02:01pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1