![]() |
Less than 9, back to 9 (NFHS)
I understand that Rule 4-4-1f says that a team can return to 9 players if they drop to 8.
Can this 9th player be: 1. Late arriving player 2. Sick player (not requiring a medical eval) 3. Player from Varsity (game over) playing in a JV game? 4. A player from a different school An ejected player obviously stays that way, as does a player who have been restricted. Thanks |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I'll have to see if I can find one. |
Thanks for the answers Tim, I appreciate that.
By sick, I meant that they came out because they didn't feel well, (flu, fatigue, etc) and wanted to return. A player with a concussion or other injury would not be coming back. Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Last year they bought us all Sporting News MLB books for our summer leagues, given that the rulebooks for those codes are all online, it was a waste in my opinion. |
Originally Posted by wmblue
I understand that Rule 4-4-1f says that a team can return to 9 players if they drop to 8. Can this 9th player be: 1. Late arriving player 2. Sick player (not requiring a medical eval) 3. Player from Varsity (game over) playing in a JV game? 4. A player from a different school An ejected player obviously stays that way, as does a player who have been restricted. Thanks Any eligible substitute can fill the vacant spot in the lineup, even after several innings have passed. The 2007 case book provides several situations, including the first three you listed. (A player from a different school is not an eligible substitute.) The late-arriving players didn't have to be listed anywhere on the lineup card when the game started. It also doesn't matter what caused the team to be reduced to 8 players either (injury, ejection, band practice, girlfriend, etc...) A player who had received a concussion earlier in the game needs a medical doctor's written authorization to be eligible. I hope this helps. |
Quote:
They can save that extra player to use as a sub or courtesy runner etc., Thansk David |
Let me add one more to the list.
Can this 9th player be: 5. The same player that left the original line-up? Yes! After dropping to eight, the player added later to make nine can be the exact same player that was in the original line-up. In other words, the substitute can come back in the game as a substitute for himself, provided he still has re-entry rights. If he does, when he comes back in the game he has now used his one re-entry. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03am. |