Quote:
Originally Posted by ctblu40
I thought that in this sitch, U2 has all touches and plays at first and second and UIC stays home for all plays there. If the ball were caught (it should've been, it was fair because Pe?a touched it over fair territory), R3 will possibly tag and attempt to score.
|
Once it falls, though.....
It's a toughie cause, you're right, the plate umpire doesn't really have a whole lot of time to get up to make this call.
U2 is expecting a catch, so he may have a lousy angle on it and not have time to slide over. Although, with R1 and R3 he'd have a tag at first. Once it fell, though, he was probably thinking about the force at second.
Sometimes an unexpected result leaves a hole in the coverages, I guess.