![]() |
Retired batter Interference
Thought I had this one straight from reading here ... but maybe not.
R1 stealing 2nd... Batter swings hard and misses at strike three, and falls over the plate, colliding with catcher, who then throws poorly to 2nd base due to the contact. Ruling? |
mcrowder,
R1 is out due to the interference of his "just retired" teammate under OBR. Any other runners return. Under FED, the umpire must judge that the catcher "would have" retired the R1 absent the interference in order to rule him out. If the umpire judges the catcher had no chance to retire the stealing runner, the runner is NOT out, but must return to his TOP base. (Ref.: BRD #266) JM |
Quote:
|
[QUOTE=CoachJM]mcrowder,
R1 is out due to the interference of his "just retired" teammate under OBR. Any other runners return. Under FED, the umpire must judge that the catcher "would have" retired the R1 absent the interference in order to rule him out. If the umpire judges the catcher had no chance to retire the stealing runner, the runner is NOT out, but must return to his TOP base. (Ref.: BRD #266) Under Fed if it's strike three and the batter interferes the runners attempting to steal (this will always be my judgement) will be out. If it's not strike three I may or may not call the runner out. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
gordon30307,
As per high school rules, if the batter is not already out and the runner is not attempting to advance to home, there is no basis in the rules for calling the runner out. Calling the runner out in such a case would NOT be a "judgment call", it would be a gross (and protestable) misapplication of the rules. BTW, I have no issue with you (and, I believe DG) suggesting that, in your judgment, the catcher always would have had a chance to retire the stealing runner absent the batter's interference. JM |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Rember that the ball should be killed immediately when the stealing runner makes it safely into the base he's attempting. For example- No count, R1 stealing. Batter interferes with F2, and F2's throw goes over 2nd base and into centerfield. PU should call time as soon as R1 touches 2nd base safely. R1 is returned to first base, BR out for interference. |
Nope
"As per high schools if you feel the batter interfering with the catcher prevented the runner from being thrown out the runner can be called out as well. Judgement call by PU."
This is an incorrect statement under NFHS rules. It is also incorrect in grammar usage. Regards, |
Quote:
However, if you read the delayed dead ball table carefully, activity 1 states,"Interference by batter when attempted put out is on a runner other than at home." And Awards or Penalties 1 reads, "With two out, batter is out. Otherwise, if attempt on runner is unsuccessful, ball is dead, batter is out, and runners return. If third strike, batter is out and umpire can call a second out." (Rule 5-1-2a) My emphasis. I see this as saying that as soon as the attempt is unsuccessful, the ball becomes dead. What do some of you big dogs think? Am I thinking in line with OBR too much? |
You got it for OBR. Fed 7-3-5 for the third strike sitch.
|
Quote:
For example, R1 stealing, throw into center field. R1 hops up and advances to third or home with possible plays at either base. If you're just going to send him back to first anyway, why all the unnecessary running and throwing? |
Quote:
First, I don't feel batters whether they are interfering with the catcher or not. Secondly, this is not, in any regard, a correct statement concerning the FED rule. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05pm. |