The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 30, 2006, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 123
Send a message via AIM to Peruvian Send a message via Yahoo to Peruvian
I had this happen last weekend in the Babe Ruth state tournament. The coach hung around for the first few warmup pitches but left after the 3rd pitch or so. The other coach complained, but when I told him he's not delaying the game and he would be allowed the same courtesy (as long as he did not delay the game,) he was fine with it.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 30, 2006, 07:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New England, Home of the Brave!
Posts: 312
Send a message via AIM to Rcichon
I don't think I'd say anything.
__________________
Strikes are great.
Outs are better.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 30, 2006, 07:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
I agree that this is no charged trip as long as he doesn't delay the progress of the between inning activity. If an opposing coach questions you with the line that he's been charged for doing that in the past, I would simply reply that since it's not specifically covered in the rules, it doesn't surprise you that different umpires might rule differently, but you're confident that your interpretation is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 30, 2006, 08:05pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
The official interpretation is the same in OBR as the FED interp:

FED: (Edited) The coach may stand with his pitcher at the mound between half innings. If his presence creates a delay: PENALTY: The umpire "may" charge a conference. (3.4.1h and 6-2-2c Exception)

OBR Penalty: (Deary) If such a "conference" delays the game: Following the first delay, the umpire should warn the coach that on the next delay he will be charged with a trip to the mound. A team must be warned one per game before the penalty is invoked.

So, it seems to me that in FED, it isn't a mandatory trip for delay, but is optional, while in OBR, a warning has to be given first.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 31, 2006, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Hensley
I agree that this is no charged trip as long as he doesn't delay the progress of the between inning activity. If an opposing coach questions you with the line that he's been charged for doing that in the past, I would simply reply that since it's not specifically covered in the rules, it doesn't surprise you that different umpires might rule differently, but you're confident that your interpretation is correct.
Ah, but it IS covered in the rules. See San Diego Steve's post.

Bob
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 31, 2006, 06:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluezebra
Ah, but it IS covered in the rules. See San Diego Steve's post.

Bob
No it's not. Dreary's statement is not in the rules. Most likely it was taken from the BRD.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 31, 2006, 07:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 301
well to be honest the only reason I even cared what the "previous ump" did was that this coach said My Mentor had done it, I'm not 100% sure I believe mr rat, but I will talk to my mentor about it.

Thanks for setting my mind at ease. Oh and I did give the not directly covered bit. Also later as we were joking after the game, i was done for the weekend, I said It matters on the coach and situation as well, I said it would certainly explain why he had it called against him. He laughed.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 31, 2006, 07:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluezebra
Ah, but it IS covered in the rules. See San Diego Steve's post.

Bob
What Garth said.

It's in the FED casebook and an OBR interpretation, but that's not exactly "covered in the rules." Certainly not when you're explaining it to a coach. Most of them don't even know casebooks and interpretive manuals even exist, beyond the official rulebook.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 31, 2006, 08:41pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Hensley
What Garth said.

It's in the FED casebook and an OBR interpretation, but that's not exactly "covered in the rules." Certainly not when you're explaining it to a coach. Most of them don't even know casebooks and interpretive manuals even exist, beyond the official rulebook.
But you still use the interp to rule on the play, don't you? I have no problem telling a coach that it is an official interpretation. They are usually quite impressed by that, and they buy it.

Most coaches (present company excluded, JM) don't even know whether or not a given situation is in the rulebook, and when confronted by an "Official Interpretation" are quite satisfied with the explanation.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 31, 2006, 09:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
But you still use the interp to rule on the play, don't you? I have no problem telling a coach that it is an official interpretation. They are usually quite impressed by that, and they buy it.

Most coaches (present company excluded, JM) don't even know whether or not a given situation is in the rulebook, and when confronted by an "Official Interpretation" are quite satisfied with the explanation.
Sure, I have no problem conveying interpretations to coaches when necessary, but my initial response in this thread was a suggestion as to how to respond to a coach who was complaining that the last umpire called it differently. My answer doesn't throw the last guy under the bus, it just acknowledges that since it's not explicitly covered in the rules, it's not surprising he would encounter different rulings from different umpires.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 01, 2006, 01:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
But you still use the interp to rule on the play, don't you? I have no problem telling a coach that it is an official interpretation. They are usually quite impressed by that, and they buy it.

Most coaches (present company excluded, JM) don't even know whether or not a given situation is in the rulebook, and when confronted by an "Official Interpretation" are quite satisfied with the explanation.
Steve,

I think it was about two years after I started reading the actual rules that I acquired a J/R. Prior to that I had accepted "on faith" the advice of a number of learned umpires NOT to ever bring a rulebook onto the field when I had an issue with an umpire's call. After reading the J/R (and, subsequently, other interpretations manuals) I understood WHY that was such good advice.

BTW, I can assure you from personal experience that there are many umpires who don't know that there are such things as "interpretations manuals".

JM
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 01, 2006, 10:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by PWL
FED rules. Pitcher gives up a home run. Coach goes out but does not cross third base line and pitcher comes over and does not cross third base line. They are about five feet apart. Ball is dead as runners circle bases.

Is this considered a visit?
Defense's coach comes out while offense is still running the bases? He gets a quick stop sign, perhaps even a verbal stop sign if he doesn't hear me. He walks through that, he won't get charged a conference, but he will get to watch the rest of the game through binoculars.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 01, 2006, 04:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,491
Send a message via AIM to RPatrino Send a message via Yahoo to RPatrino
PWL, if the catcher THEN talks with the pitcher I have a visit. Absent that, I don't have a chargable conference.
__________________
Bob P.

-----------------------
We are stewards of baseball. Our customers aren't schools or coaches or conferences. Our customer is the game itself.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Visit To Mound And Other things gruberted Baseball 26 Thu Jun 01, 2006 11:42pm
Coach's visit benbret Softball 5 Fri Apr 21, 2006 03:46pm
Visit by Coach to Pitcher BBCoach Baseball 8 Fri May 21, 2004 07:25am
To visit or not to visit...that is the question! whitecane12 Baseball 6 Fri Jul 04, 2003 08:57am
Charged Visit? Ed Austin Baseball 25 Sun Oct 01, 2000 07:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1