![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
And don't waste time trying to explain. Bob |
|
|||
|
I had this happen last weekend in the Babe Ruth state tournament. The coach hung around for the first few warmup pitches but left after the 3rd pitch or so. The other coach complained, but when I told him he's not delaying the game and he would be allowed the same courtesy (as long as he did not delay the game,) he was fine with it.
|
|
|||
|
I agree that this is no charged trip as long as he doesn't delay the progress of the between inning activity. If an opposing coach questions you with the line that he's been charged for doing that in the past, I would simply reply that since it's not specifically covered in the rules, it doesn't surprise you that different umpires might rule differently, but you're confident that your interpretation is correct.
|
|
|||
|
The official interpretation is the same in OBR as the FED interp:
FED: (Edited) The coach may stand with his pitcher at the mound between half innings. If his presence creates a delay: PENALTY: The umpire "may" charge a conference. (3.4.1h and 6-2-2c Exception) OBR Penalty: (Deary) If such a "conference" delays the game: Following the first delay, the umpire should warn the coach that on the next delay he will be charged with a trip to the mound. A team must be warned one per game before the penalty is invoked. So, it seems to me that in FED, it isn't a mandatory trip for delay, but is optional, while in OBR, a warning has to be given first.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Bob |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
GB |
|
|||
|
well to be honest the only reason I even cared what the "previous ump" did was that this coach said My Mentor had done it, I'm not 100% sure I believe mr rat, but I will talk to my mentor about it.
Thanks for setting my mind at ease. Oh and I did give the not directly covered bit. Also later as we were joking after the game, i was done for the weekend, I said It matters on the coach and situation as well, I said it would certainly explain why he had it called against him. He laughed. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
It's in the FED casebook and an OBR interpretation, but that's not exactly "covered in the rules." Certainly not when you're explaining it to a coach. Most of them don't even know casebooks and interpretive manuals even exist, beyond the official rulebook. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Visit To Mound And Other things | gruberted | Baseball | 26 | Thu Jun 01, 2006 11:42pm |
| Coach's visit | benbret | Softball | 5 | Fri Apr 21, 2006 03:46pm |
| Visit by Coach to Pitcher | BBCoach | Baseball | 8 | Fri May 21, 2004 07:25am |
| To visit or not to visit...that is the question! | whitecane12 | Baseball | 6 | Fri Jul 04, 2003 08:57am |
| Charged Visit? | Ed Austin | Baseball | 25 | Sun Oct 01, 2000 07:20pm |