The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   1st & 3rd - F1 throws to 2nd - balk? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/27555-1st-3rd-f1-throws-2nd-balk.html)

ygyo Mon Jul 24, 2006 03:11pm

1st & 3rd - F1 throws to 2nd - balk?
 
R1 & R3 - R1 leaves early to steal 2nd base. Pitcher spins and throws to 2nd base to get tag out of R1. He spins (as he would normally do to back pick a runner already on 2nd base) without first disengaging the plate. Is this a balk? Thanks.

3appleshigh Mon Jul 24, 2006 03:23pm

NO - (i'm told this is too short a message but the Answer is NO)

UmpJM Mon Jul 24, 2006 03:26pm

ygyo,

If the R1 is attempting to steal 2B when the pitcher makes this move, it is perfectly legal - i.e., not a balk.

Reference:

8.05
Quote:

(d) The pitcher, while touching his plate, throws, or feints a throw to an unoccupied base, except for the purpose of making a play;
Although 2B IS "unoccupied", since the pitcher is throwing there "for the purpose of making a (legitimate) play", he is legal.

JM

ozzy6900 Mon Jul 24, 2006 06:15pm

Yes, this is a balk when playing under Iraqi MLB rules, punishable by be-heading.

But in the USA, it is not a balk.

Sorry, I promise I'll get back on the meds just as soon as I can! :D

Rcichon Mon Jul 24, 2006 11:44pm

roflmfao Ozzy. Beheadings instead of ejections.
This has a chance.........


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1