The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 01, 2001, 09:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 38
Talking

Runner on 3rd 1 out,pitched ball gets by catcher & as runner is trying to score B1 just stands in batters box & the thrown ball from catcher to pitcher hits B1.
What is the call? Do you send runner back to 3rd or is B1 out for interference?
What would the call be if it were ball 4, or strike 3?
This did happened in little league where a runner can advance on a wild pitch or passed ball
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 01, 2001, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 231
Batter must make an attempt to vacate the area where the play is about to happen, if in your judgement he had sufficient time to do so. A ball to the screen should be plenty of time to vacate the area.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 01, 2001, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 813
From OBR:
    7.09(d) It is interference by a batter or a runner when before two are out and a runner on third base, the batter hinders a fielder in making a play at home base; the runner is out.

From JEA:
    No outs. Runner on third. The runner attempts to score on a passed ball. The pitcher covers the plate as the catcher fires the ball to him. The batter who is still standing in the right-handed batter's box is struck with the throw thus preventing the pitcher from making the play. Is this interference?
    RULING: With less than 2 outs, the runner is out for the batter's interference. In this case, his remaining in the box did interfere with the play. In some situations, the batter's staying in the box may not actually interfere. This requires umpire judgment on each play.

Seems pretty cut and dry to me.
Provided a fielder had come to the plate area to receive the throw, call out the runner attempting to score for the interference of the batter (runner) during the play at home plate. He should have been long gone anyway. If no fielder came to receive the throw, then the batter didn't really interfere with anything, did he???

Just my opinion,

Freix
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1