![]() |
|
|||
Here's a contreversial one...
2 outs, bases full 3-2 pitch. Now, these kids were inexperienced, and the man on third didn't think that it might not be a good idea to run full sprint to home.
Well, he stole home. But the pitch was strike 3. Now I have a time playor just a typical force.. Which happened first? Possession of the catcher? Or runner's foot hitting home? Or does it even matter? Part of me thinks its a time play just because that's what makes sense. But, lets think if he dropped the ball. Now we have a force. Catcher stands up and throws to first. OUT! Now the runner doesn't score, because he can not score on a force play with 2 outs. BUT, he scored before the play even took place to begin with. So I'm going with time play. I had this situation tonight, and luckily for me the catcher caught the ball before the runner got to home. But it was close, and I thought I may need to know what to do here in the future. Is it a time play all at PU's lap? |
|
|||
![]()
TussAgee11,
Go to bed. The run does NOT score. The only "timing" you should be concerned with in this situation is on your strike call. "Don't think too much, it can only hurt the team." JM P.S. Watch those double negatives. It makes it unfairly difficult for the reader. |
|
|||
Unless the strike 3 was uncaught and the BR made it to first and all other runners advanced safely, the run doesn't count. No run can score on a play where the batter-runner makes the 3rd out before touching 1st base. 4.09(a)(1) and A.R.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
Interesting how this almost happenened in the CWS final...
The catcher didn't actually catch the third strike, although the PU called the Batter out. And the runner would have gotten to home before a tag from the catcher. Just interesting how I play so wierd I thought about in my mind just about happened in the CWS. Thanks for the rules, SDS. |
|
|||
And,
. . . as normal Harold Reynolds even screwed up the CWS play.
Reynolds: "Lucky the catcher caught the ball or the run would have scored." I can't find a little figure head that shows me sadly shaking my head from side-to-side. Lah Me. Regards, |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Just where are those dang keys?! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|