The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 21, 2006, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctblu40
Assuming OBR rules... Balk for going to the mouth? That is simply wrong... just like BB&DK said.

Check swing appeals... if you think he offered at the pitch, it's a strike. If not, it's a ball. The "breaking the wrist", "bat head in front of the plate" and all other McCarverisms are simply false. (Unless you're using NCAA rules in which the bat head crossing the front hip is an automatic)

BTW- don't let the coach approach you to argue a check swing appeal... that's arguing balls and strikes and by rule if he leaves his position to do so, you warn then if he continues, the umpire shall eject the offender.
FED rules...the pitcher had been whining all game long (he obviously got it from his coaches), and from behind the plate, it would obviously look like he went to the mouth. From C, I could see he didn't, but I wasn't going to help the kid.

Also, on the check swing, the bat head did not cross the plate, but from C (which is a tough spot for a right-handed batter), it appeared the attempt was there. It was the third out, and the coach got in a few words as he crossed the field, nothing really out of the ordinary.
__________________
Throwing people out of a game is like riding a bike- once you get the hang of it, it can be a lot of fun.- Ron Luciano
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 21, 2006, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 64
Going to a pocket for seeds while ON THE RUBBER ???

Balk all day!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 21, 2006, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 2
Maybe I'm naive but where in the rulebook does it say that going to the mouth while on the rubber is a balk? According to 8.02(a)(1), a pitcher is not allowed to bring his hand to him mouth BUT the penalty is for the umpire to call a ball. Is this a FED rule that I am unaware of?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 21, 2006, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by UmpNW
Maybe I'm naive but where in the rulebook does it say that going to the mouth while on the rubber is a balk? According to 8.02(a)(1), a pitcher is not allowed to bring his hand to him mouth BUT the penalty is for the umpire to call a ball. Is this a FED rule that I am unaware of?
FED 6-2-4 (c)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 21, 2006, 01:04pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by midtnblu
Going to a pocket for seeds while ON THE RUBBER ???

Balk all day!
He is on the rubber to pitch. If he wants seeds, disengage the rubber first.

"Wait a minute fellahs, batter just go ahead and step out for a second, I gotta get some seeds."

Sheesh.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 21, 2006, 01:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Quote:
Originally Posted by midtnblu
Going to a pocket for seeds while ON THE RUBBER ???

Balk all day!
I don't see how bringing his pitching hand around to his back pocket to get some seeds can be considered a balk in and of itself. Now, had he had his hands together and broke them without disengaging I can see it, but there's not enough information in the OP to suggest that's what happened.


Tim.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 21, 2006, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigUmp56
I don't see how bringing his pitching hand around to his back pocket to get some seeds can be considered a balk in and of itself. Now, had he had his hands together and broke them without disengaging I can see it, but there's not enough information in the OP to suggest that's what happened.


Tim.
Balk wasn't called for going for seeds, it was for going to mouth to ingest said seeds. Hands were never together, never came to a set, just went to the mouth while engaged with the rubber.
__________________
Throwing people out of a game is like riding a bike- once you get the hang of it, it can be a lot of fun.- Ron Luciano
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 21, 2006, 02:39pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Since we now know it was FED rules, it would be a balk only if he didn't wipe his pitching hand before it touches the ball. If he failed to wipe his salty hand before touching the ball, it is a balk, and not at all OOO, but the proper call by rule. 6-2-4(c).

That being said, it is still dumb to go for seeds while engaged to the rubber.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 21, 2006, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 476
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
Since we now know it was FED rules, it would be a balk only if he didn't wipe his pitching hand before it touches the ball. If he failed to wipe his salty hand before touching the ball, it is a balk, and not at all OOO, but the proper call by rule. 6-2-4(c).

That being said, it is still dumb to go for seeds while engaged to the rubber.
Did not wipe, went from seeds to ball....so thanks for clarifying that it was a good call.

And if you saw this kid, you'd know why he did it....not exactly the greenest grass on the field if you know what I mean.
__________________
Throwing people out of a game is like riding a bike- once you get the hang of it, it can be a lot of fun.- Ron Luciano
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 22, 2006, 08:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
Since we now know it was FED rules, it would be a balk only if he didn't wipe his pitching hand before it touches the ball.
Not true, Steve. In FED, going to the mouth while on the rubber is "a motion associated with the pitch" and is a balk. While 6.2.1A and 6.1.2D only hint at this ruling, I seem to recall an interp that deals with it directly.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 22, 2006, 11:47am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Not true, Steve. In FED, going to the mouth while on the rubber is "a motion associated with the pitch" and is a balk. While 6.2.1A and 6.1.2D only hint at this ruling, I seem to recall an interp that deals with it directly.
Here might be that interp:

From the BRD #363

"If F1 goes to his mouth while deliberately in contact with the pitcher's plate, he has interrupted his pitching motion." 6-1-2. PENALTY: Ball/Balk (6-1-2 Pen)
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fair or foul?? MarkPSkins Softball 9 Fri Apr 08, 2005 04:32pm
Fair or Foul jesmael Baseball 12 Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:26pm
Fair or Foul Gre144 Baseball 18 Sun Jun 29, 2003 12:20am
Fair or Foul? JustaFan2 Softball 2 Tue Jun 17, 2003 06:52pm
Fair or foul??? ahouk Baseball 6 Wed Jun 04, 2003 03:09pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1