The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   foul ball and runner does not return to previous bag (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/27029-foul-ball-runner-does-not-return-previous-bag.html)

lawump Thu Jun 15, 2006 09:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ctblu40
Good question lawump... it deserves a good answer... I don't think i have one for this though.
Here's what i would use in considering my course of action-
1) is the coach a jerk and known for this type of behavior?
2) did the ump catch it and talk to the coach? If so did the coach argue?
3) was it a tight game and an obvious intent to put the faster runner on second?

If the answer to these questions are all yes, then EJ. If there's any doubt, just correct the mistake.

(1) Don't know...I've never umpired a game with this coach, as this was a team from another part of the state playing at a local school we normally provide services for.

(2) Umpire caught it after one pitch, and he did talk to the coach. Coached argued only that it was an "accident"...he did not argue that they should be on first and second.

(3) Yes it was tight. I know nothing of the runners' speed.

Oh, by the way, the umpire involved returned the runners, restricted the coach to the dugout, and let the one pitch (called "strike") stand.

ctblu40 Thu Jun 15, 2006 10:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by lawump
Oh, by the way, the umpire involved returned the runners, restricted the coach to the dugout, and let the one pitch (called "strike") stand.

hmmm.... this sounds good to me. I guess this is one instance in which I would use the "restricted to the dugout" rule.

beachman Thu Jun 15, 2006 12:48pm

Seen it; thought about it. Here's the call:

Runner returns to second. Ball put in play. Count is 0-0.

The two pitches were not pitches since, until R2 goes back, it's a dead ball situation. Even if B had hit a homer or popped out on the second pitch, he goes back up with a 0-0 count and R2 on second.

SAump Thu Jun 15, 2006 12:59pm

Good call
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by lawump
(1) Don't know...I've never umpired a game with this coach, as this was a team from another part of the state playing at a local school we normally provide services for.

(2) Umpire caught it after one pitch, and he did talk to the coach. Coached argued only that it was an "accident"...he did not argue that they should be on first and second.

(3) Yes it was tight. I know nothing of the runners' speed.

Oh, by the way, the umpire involved returned the runners, restricted the coach to the dugout, and let the one pitch (called "strike") stand.

I would have a hard time ejecting both runners. They may be complying with the demands of a mean spirited base coach. I would eject the coach because he tried to gain an unfair advantage, but I can also agree with my partner's ruling to restrict coach to the dugout.

RPatrino Thu Jun 15, 2006 06:39pm

My question remains unanswered. How can this have happened in the first place? A runner advances on a foul ball, and NO ONE in the whole ball park notices it? Somebody have a logical explaination?

Maybe this never happened in the first place.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1