The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Ball thrown to 1st base after BB/Walk ???? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/26985-ball-thrown-1st-base-after-bb-walk.html)

Dave Hensley Mon Jun 12, 2006 08:04pm

Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
Making a left turn at the base in the direction of 2nd is considered an attempt.


By whom????
__________________
GB


Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
The batter-runner who just walked.

Uh, I think with the question "by whom," Garth was wondering who considers a left turn in the direction of 2nd to be an attempt. He wasn't wondering who was making the alleged attempt.

GarthB Mon Jun 12, 2006 08:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
The batter-runner who just walked.


You misunderstood.

You posted: "Making a left turn at the base in the direction of 2nd is considered an attempt."

My question: By whom is it considered an attempt? Turning left, in and of itself, is not an attempt.

BigUmp56 Mon Jun 12, 2006 09:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
The batter must return immediately to first after overrunning it. Making a left turn at the base in the direction of 2nd is considered an attempt. Merely turning around to the left and going back to the base after running straight though the base is not.

In all fairness to Steve I think he was saying that turning to the left at the bag on a walk would be considered an attempt to advance to second, where turning to the left after over running the bag in and of itself would not be considered an attempt.


Tim.

SanDiegoSteve Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigUmp56
In all fairness to Steve I think he was saying that turning to the left at the bag on a walk would be considered an attempt to advance to second, where turning to the left after over running the bag in and of itself would not be considered an attempt.


Tim.

Yes, that is what I meant. Thank you. As I stated before, turning left after overrunning the base is not an attempt as long as the runner makes no bluff toward 2nd and returns to the base immediately.

What I was referring to, Garth, was a phenomenon usually associated with Little League Majors and Minors, of which I realize you have never worked or watched a game in your entire life:D . That is when a batter walks, he sprints to 1st base, and then he turns and takes a few quick steps toward 2nd in order to draw a throw from the catcher or pitcher before the pitcher can get on the rubber and the catcher in his box. They do this ad nauseum, in fact on nearly every base on balls. Kids...go figure!

Rich Ives Mon Jun 12, 2006 11:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
Yes, that is what I meant. Thank you. As I stated before, turning left after overrunning the base is not an attempt as long as the runner makes no bluff toward 2nd and returns to the base immediately.

What I was referring to, Garth, was a phenomenon usually associated with Little League Majors and Minors, of which I realize you have never worked or watched a game in your entire life:D . That is when a batter walks, he sprints to 1st base, and then he turns and takes a few quick steps toward 2nd in order to draw a throw from the catcher or pitcher before the pitcher can get on the rubber and the catcher in his box. They do this ad nauseum, in fact on nearly every base on balls. Kids...go figure!

Even if the pitcher and catcher are in position the runner can keep going.

SAump Tue Jun 13, 2006 12:06am

Turn left vs attempt.
 
OBR Rules - Rule Myths
2. The batter-runner must turn to his right after over-running first base.
BTW
1. The hands are considered part of the bat.

-------------
RIGHT TURN RULE MYTH
The batter-runner may turn left or right, provided that if he turns left he does not make an attempt to advance. An attempt is a judgment made by the umpire. The requirement is that the runner must immediately return to first after overrunning or oversliding it.

Rule: 7.08(c and j)

http://eteamz.active.com/baseball/ru...ths/index.cfm?

Submitted by: Jim Booth

SAump Tue Jun 13, 2006 12:19am

As Others Already Suggest
 
OBR Rules - Rule Myths
9. The batter may not overrun first base when he gets a base-on-balls.

OVERRUN FIRST BASE RULE MYTH
Rule 7.08(c and j) simply state that a batter-runner must immediately return after overrunning first base. It doesn't state any exceptions as to how the player became a runner. It could be a hit, walk, error or dropped third strike.
In Little League the runner may overrun. In FED rules he may not and in Professional baseball, he may not. In other programs that use the OBR he may if that is how the program rules it.
To overrun means that the runners momentum carried him straight beyond the base after touching it. It does not mean to turn and attempt to advance. Nor does it mean that he stepped over it or stopped on it and then got off of it.

http://eteamz.active.com/baseball/ru...ths/index.cfm?

Submitted by: Jim Booth

SanDiegoSteve Tue Jun 13, 2006 12:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAump
OBR Rules - Rule Myths
2. The batter-runner must turn to his right after over-running first base.
BTW
1. The hands are considered part of the bat.

-------------
RIGHT TURN RULE MYTH
The batter-runner may turn left or right, provided that if he turns left he does not make an attempt to advance. An attempt is a judgment made by the umpire. The requirement is that the runner must immediately return to first after overrunning or oversliding it.

Rule: 7.08(c and j)

http://eteamz.active.com/baseball/ru...ths/index.cfm?


Submitted by: Jim Booth

Okay, isn't this what I just said? I think we all know this by now, SA. We are a bit past the myths here.

SanDiegoSteve Tue Jun 13, 2006 12:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives
Even if the pitcher and catcher are in position the runner can keep going.

Okay Rich, at what point do I make the runner go back to first base when the rest of us are ready for the first pitch to the next batter? Doesn't the runner have to go back to the base eventually? I'm a novice at this Little League stuff, so help me out here.

Dave Hensley Tue Jun 13, 2006 07:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAump
OBR Rules - Rule Myths
9. The batter may not overrun first base when he gets a base-on-balls.

OVERRUN FIRST BASE RULE MYTH
Rule 7.08(c and j) simply state that a batter-runner must immediately return after overrunning first base. It doesn't state any exceptions as to how the player became a runner. It could be a hit, walk, error or dropped third strike.
In Little League the runner may overrun. In FED rules he may not and in Professional baseball, he may not. In other programs that use the OBR he may if that is how the program rules it.
To overrun means that the runners momentum carried him straight beyond the base after touching it. It does not mean to turn and attempt to advance. Nor does it mean that he stepped over it or stopped on it and then got off of it.

http://eteamz.active.com/baseball/ru...ths/index.cfm?

Submitted by: Jim Booth

Booth's ruling for MLB baseball (runner may not overrun) is obsolete, superceded by an interpretation that the runner may overrun without liability, published in the MLBUM in 2002. Booth's ruling was based on a Jim Evans interpretation in Baseball Rules Annotated.

Dave Hensley Tue Jun 13, 2006 07:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
Okay Rich, at what point do I make the runner go back to first base when the rest of us are ready for the first pitch to the next batter? Doesn't the runner have to go back to the base eventually? I'm a novice at this Little League stuff, so help me out here.

You don't "make the runner go back to first base..." while the ball is live; instead, you let the battery get set and if the runner is off his base when the battery is set, then let the pitcher pitch and throw your little red flag.

BigUmp56 Tue Jun 13, 2006 08:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave Hensley
You don't "make the runner go back to first base..." while the ball is live; instead, you let the battery get set and if the runner is off his base when the battery is set, then let the pitcher pitch and throw your little red flag.


There's an exception to that, Dave. As you know, when a runner is still making a legitimate attempt to advance he doesn't have to return as soon as the battery is set.


RIM COMMENTS

"When a runner is legitimately off his/her base, the pitcher cannot stop the runner by taking the ball back to the pitcher’s plate."



Tim.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1