The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   whats the rulebook say (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/26657-whats-rulebook-say.html)

NFump Fri May 26, 2006 11:45pm

The dolt is the one who doesn't know that the defense obstructs and the offense interferes. B...bb...bbbut....it...sss..sssays ob..ob...obstructs in the definition....whaaaaa....whaaaaaaa. He's stalking me....whaaaaaaa!

NFump Fri May 26, 2006 11:47pm

Go back to Allexperts.com and get some more rulings. Sheesh!

NFump Sat May 27, 2006 12:20am

You just can't resist replying can you SA?

SAump Sat May 27, 2006 12:20am

Whatever Floats
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by NFump
The dolt is the one who doesn't know that the defense obstructs and the offense interferes. B...bb...bbbut....it...sss..sssays ob..ob...obstructs in the definition....whaaaaa....whaaaaaaa. He's stalking me....whaaaaaaa!

I suppose your spin on things makes you happy.

It really doesn't bother me. You'll see.

I enjoy reading the kiddish behavior.

LOL

NFump Sat May 27, 2006 12:23am

Then just read it and quit posting it.

Thanks and have a good day!

BigUmp56 Sat May 27, 2006 12:23am

Yes, Bruce, you need to quit putting a spin on this. With all those darn facts in the way, how will we ever get to reach an accord with SAump.


Tim.

NFump Sat May 27, 2006 12:26am

Somebody's gonna reach a cord around his neck and pull it tight if'n he keeps making up rules in his games.

SanDiegoSteve Sat May 27, 2006 12:26am

Bruce, you are so right, but sometimes that's just not enough for some folks.
http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/18/18_7_23.gif

NFump Sat May 27, 2006 12:28am

That's a good smiley.

RPatrino Sat May 27, 2006 12:48am

Am I the only one here that has never heard of Mike Fortunado?

Bob P.

NFump Sat May 27, 2006 12:50am

Googled him myself.

NFump Sat May 27, 2006 12:51am

Here comes another one from SA!

UmpJM Sat May 27, 2006 12:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RPatrino
Am I the only one here that has never heard of Mike Fortunado?

Bob P.

Bob,

You certainly are not.

Personally, I was just wondering if his "coaching strategies to win games" exhibited the same command of the game that his rules knowledge does.;)

JM

SAump Sat May 27, 2006 01:03am

Food for Thought
 
"There is no rule that allows an umpire to call a batter out for throwing the bat, under any circumstances (even if intentional)."

There is a rule, and I posted it here (again). That was the crux of my argument or conundrum. I did not make up the rule. I know it exists.

"If a whole bat is thrown into fair territory and interferes with a defensive player attempting to make a play, interference shall be called, whether intentional or not."

Perhaps a RE-clarification is necesssary. Why would Andy insist that it doesn't exist? Mike was right.

Sorry you had to endure that kind of call. You'd certainly think that Little League would have their best umpires at Williamsport!

NFump Sat May 27, 2006 01:03am

I guess SA went to bed. It's alright though he'll attempt to get the last word tomorrow(or would that be today?).

NFump Sat May 27, 2006 01:05am

One question SA. In the original sitch, where was the bat thrown? WRONG RULE CITE!

NFump Sat May 27, 2006 01:09am

Okay two questions. Which fielder was attempting to make a play on the batted ball?

RPatrino Sat May 27, 2006 01:13am

Well, I still don't know who Mike Fortunado is. And I looked at that "expert" website and saw a very interesting answer.

Apparently a coach can ask for an appeal on a check swing that IS CALLED a strike. So we are to ask, "did he hold up?"

SAUmp has found a real fountain of mis-information there!!

Bob P.

NFump Sat May 27, 2006 01:17am

YGTBSM! Well SA? Is that true? Can the offense appeal a strike call?
That's what your "expert" said, so it must be true. WOW!

SanDiegoSteve Sat May 27, 2006 01:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
SA,

Won't the real SA please shut up, please shut up, please shut up!

As youze kin planely cee frum the orijunal siteation hear, the sorry player hits a triple inaverently hittig the catcher on the back swing. Their wuz no intent on the part of the batter, but the ruleing wuz that the batter is dqed and can not play the rest of the game and the rest of the tourny.

Follow closely now SA.....The point hear iz that their wuz no warnin' given on an accedent throwin' of the bat, and the thrown bat did not interfere with anything. The batter hit a triple, so the catcher wuz not making a play. You are rong. Rong is rong. Rong, rong, rong. The blue that every body hates around the wurld wuz rong to! He shudent have taked away the 2 runs neither. It shud have rezulted in a warnin' only.

Thank youze fur you're support.

I wuz jest funnin' around with this post, so nobody git bent outta shape hear!

This was post #76 in this thread (now we are on 120!!!), where the original situation was pointed out to SA, and he was informed that he was wrong. He is still wrong. Rong, rong, rong!

NFump Sat May 27, 2006 01:19am

OOPS! My bad. If SA perceived it to be true then, to him, it is.

SanDiegoSteve Sat May 27, 2006 01:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RPatrino
Well, I still don't know who Mike Fortunado is. And I looked at that "expert" website and saw a very interesting answer.

Apparently a coach can ask for an appeal on a check swing that IS CALLED a strike. So we are to ask, "did he hold up?"

SAUmp has found a real fountain of mis-information there!!

Bob P.

Or you could do this old stand-by:

PU: "Hey Joe, they want to know, did he go?"

BU: "Yeah Kent, he shore nuff went."

PU: "I told ya so!"

:D

SAump Sat May 27, 2006 01:24am

I can't tell
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by NFump
One question SA. In the original sitch, where was the bat thrown? WRONG RULE CITE!

"a batter hit the catcher during the progress of the game and scored a triple"

Remember this is 8-10 year old kid and a scored triple could mean just about anything. Some catchers are practically over the plate. Somewhere near HOME plate. Good catchers react to cover the plate immediately when runners are in scoring position. There isn't much distance to cover.

You're not suggesting he was in foul territory, or he wasn't attempting to make a play at the plate with two runners on board. Now if that batter hit the triple (???) with the bases empty, I haven't got that intereference call at the plate.

NFump Sat May 27, 2006 01:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by gulf breeze
sorry player hits a triple inavertently hittig the catcher on the back swing..he gets to third base scoring two runs..the catcher after coaching crys but stays in the game..there was no warning for this before in the game..the ruleing was that the batter is dqed and can not play the rest of this game and the rest of the tourny,,also the two runs were taken away..thank you..

So you're saying the catcher, at the time of the batter swinging the bat, was not behind the plate(which is foul territory)? And oh yeah, the batter hit a triple(it doesn't matter how many were on) there was no play being made at the time of (your) interference. Is it sinking in yet?

SAump Sat May 27, 2006 01:49am

i'm wrong about backswing
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by NFump
So you're saying the catcher, at the time of the batter swinging the bat, was not behind the plate(which is foul territory)? And oh yeah, the batter hit a triple(it doesn't matter how many were on) there was no play being made at the time of (your) interference. Is it sinking in yet?

If batter hit catcher on the backswing after a triple, I got nothing.

Have you read the entire thread? It matters because I have no intereference if NO one runs home past an injured catcher to score a run.

NFump Sat May 27, 2006 02:18am

SA, do you recognize this statement?

"I left the warning on the table for a MINOR infraction, but a MAJOR accident is reason enough for an immediate expulsion and an OUT. You are definitely putting the game ahead of the safety of those involved. I will not."

You were getting an out here for a MAJOR accident, not for interference. That was first. You realized at this point you were wrong and started grabbing at anything you could to shore yourself up.

"Well if a bat harmlessly flying through the air may cause interference with a catcher attempting to make a play, I believe a bat that decks the catcher who is not attempting to make any play is also grounds for interference. JMOHO."

Now it's interference. And your own words stating the catcher was not attempting to make any play.

"I NO LONGER agree with your interpretation of an accident that results in serious injury. The batter is responsible for his actions which includes safely releasing the bat. I am not ruling on a carelessly thrown bat. I am ruling on a bat that makes serious CONTACT with the catcher or UMPIRE (MALICIOUS). That B/R is OUT immediately and ejected for MC."

Now it's that safety thing again and malicious contact. More flailing around than a drunk who thinks he's falling down.

A rule also allows for the immediate ejection of a batter or runner who intentionally throws his helmet or bat down at the ground or at a fence or wall in a violent manner. No warnings and no ADDITIONAL OUTS are allowed by rule (EX: Out on called 3rd strike and another out for throwing both helmet and bat in dispute of bad call).

Now we've got the batter throwing his bat at the ground or at a fence or wall in a violent manner when he was really just swinging at a pitch. Oh and by the way, you can't get two outs on the same guy. Brilliant!

"THROWING THE BAT RULE
Young players quite often let go of the bat during or after a swing and sometimes hit another player. There is no rule that covers this situation. It is a safety issue and may be handled under the authority of rule 9.01(c) which gives the umpire authority to rule on anything not specifically covered in the rules.I feel the batter interfered with the catcher's ability to field his position. I would call the batter OUT for interference by rule and return the runner to 3B, the last base legally obtained at TOI. If the bases were loaded, I would rule a DP as a result of this interference if I felt one was possible."

Now you're using 9.01c and back to the safety thing and using interference as well as getting a DP. Not to mention, in your own words, that you acknowledge the fact that there is no rule that covers this situation.

"6.7.1 The batter is out and the ball is dead if (a) the batter throws the bat unintentionally in a dangerous manner and it hits the catcher, umpire, any player, or coach in his normal position, goes into a dugout or into the crowd which is outside of the playing field (bat must hit spectator or player); or (b) the batter intentionally throws the bat in a dangerous manner or (c) upon hitting a fair or foul ball, the batter unintentionally throws the bat and it interferes with play in any way. These are not appeal plays. They are interference plays and "in a dangerous manner" is to be adjudged by the umpire."

Another gem found on the internet. Which rule set was this again? I thought it was supposed to be USSSA(which uses OBR, modified).

And there was this beauty of a post:

"Topic: Baseball Instruction
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Expert: Mike Fortunato
Date: 5/3/2005
Subject: Thrown bat ruling
Question
Hi, Mike:

I have extensive experience playing and managing in pro ball, but Williamsport Little League umpiring astounds me. In yesterday's game (12-year-old, majors division), with the bases loaded and two out, the batter swings and misses and throws his bat, and is given a warning by the plate umpire. On the next pitch he taps one back to the mound, but again throws his bat, this time taking out the catcher. The pitcher fields the ball and goes home with it, but the catcher has been injured by the bat and stumbles to get to the plate to take the throw. He is late getting there. The umpire calls the runner at home safe, then throws the hitter out for throwing the bat! He does not call an out, allows the run, and has the coach replace the batter with a pinch-runner at first. We protested that, if the batter is out of the game for throwing the bat, he can't be safe at first. Also, that the bat interfered with the catcher and therefore the batter is out. How can this umpire be right? Thanks!

Get the answer below
Sponsored Links
Free Batting Aid
Designed To Develop Short And Quick Swing. Just Complete Survey Now!
Quickswing.Leisure-Offer.Com

Baseball Pitching Guide
Pro Teaches How To Pitch Mechanics Velocity Arm Care
www.ExplosivePitching.com

Answer
Wow! Based on your description, I would have to agree with you. If I were umpiring that game, I definitely would not have allowed the run to score (based on obstruction). And if the batter was tossed from the game, it's ludicrous that he wouldn't be called out! Only thing I can think of is that the ump's judgment was that the bat was not thrown purposefully -- but even still, he had already issued a warning. Based on my understanding of the situation, your protest would seem to be valid. Whether they overturn the call or not is another matter, since this involves umpire judgment to some degree.

Sorry you had to endure that kind of call. You'd certainly think that Little League would have their best umpires at Williamsport!

Best of luck,

Mike Fortunato"

Nuff said bout dat.

"There is a rule, and I posted it here (again). That was the crux of my argument or conundrum. I did not make up the rule. I know it exists."

Yeah, you know it exists yet you say there isn't one(which explains why you can't find it). So you keep going back and forth, back and forth, it's interference, no, it's a safety issue, no wait it's both. Meanwhile myself and everyone else has stated the same thing the whole time. You cannot get an out here. I hope you will see the light at the end of the tunnel someday.

Thanks for playing
Good night.

NFump Sat May 27, 2006 02:22am

"If batter hit catcher on the backswing after a triple, I got nothing.

Have you read the entire thread? It matters because I have no intereference if NO one runs home past an injured catcher to score a run."

That's not what you originally said (as I pointed out). Nice try. You should try out for the Olympics, yep, swimming, yep, the backstroke!

BigUmp56 Sat May 27, 2006 02:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAump
If batter hit catcher on the backswing after a triple, I got nothing.

Have you read the entire thread? It matters because I have no intereference if NO one runs home past an injured catcher to score a run.


It wouldn't matter at all even if there were a runner trying to advance. You still cannot get an out here for contact made on the backswing unless it was an intentional act.

6.06(c)

If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and swings so hard he carries the bat all the way around and, in the umpire's judgment, unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of him on the backswing before the catcher has securely held the ball, it shall be called a strike only (not interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play.




Tim.

SAump Sat May 27, 2006 09:07am

Modified Your Obstruction Lately
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by NFump
The dolt is the one who doesn't know that the defense obstructs and the offense interferes. B...bb...bbbut....it...sss..sssays ob..ob...obstructs in the definition....whaaaaa....whaaaaaaa. He's stalking me....whaaaaaaa!

What was the latest on NOT allowing the catcher to block the plate without the ball?
I guess it going to take some serious bat throwing incidents to move you guys.
Local leagues will adopt the changes after word gets OUT.
Good thing you keep UP with the rule changes.

SAump Sat May 27, 2006 09:17am

Your point is?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigUmp56
It wouldn't matter at all even if there were a runner trying to advance. You still cannot get an out here for contact made on the backswing unless it was an intentional act.

6.06(c)

If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and swings so hard he carries the bat all the way around and, in the umpire's judgment, unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of him on the backswing before the catcher has securely held the ball, it shall be called a strike only (not interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play.


Tim.

You cite a rule that confirms my observation. Do you have your sites on twisting these words around too. Remember to place the runners back to TOP and NO they can't score a RUN in this manner, either.

NFump Sat May 27, 2006 09:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAump
What was the latest on NOT allowing the catcher to block the plate without the ball?
I guess it going to take some serious bat throwing incidents to move you guys.
Local leagues will adopt the changes after word gets OUT.
Good thing you keep UP with the rule changes.

What? Now the catcher is blocking the plate without the ball. Serious bat throwing warrants an ejection not an out! Really SA, you're going from the sublime to the ridiculous to the absolutely absurd. Flailing, flailing on the baseball field. Good job! ROFLMAO!!

SAump Quote:
<table border="0" cellpadding="6" cellspacing="0" width="100%"> <tbody><tr> <td class="alt2" style="border: 1px inset ;"> Originally Posted by BigUmp56
It wouldn't matter at all even if there were a runner trying to advance. You still cannot get an out here for contact made on the backswing unless it was an intentional act.

6.06(c)

If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and swings so hard he carries the bat all the way around and, in the umpire's judgment, unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of him on the backswing before the catcher has securely held the ball, it shall be called a strike only (not interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play.


Tim.

</td> </tr> </tbody></table>

You cite a rule that confirms my observation. Do you have your sites on twisting these words around too. Remember to place the runners back to TOP and NO they can't score a RUN in this manner, either.

Didn't I cite this to you earlier in this thread? Talk about not reading the whole thread. This cite is closer to what actually happened but still doesn't apply. Did you fall down and hit your head? Maybe it's the psychotropic drugs your therapist is prescribing for you. You really shouldn't abuse those you know.

SAump Sat May 27, 2006 10:13am

Explain
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BigUmp56
It wouldn't matter at all even if there were a runner trying to advance. You still cannot get an out here for contact made on the backswing unless it was an intentional act.

6.06(c)

If a batter strikes at a ball and misses and swings so hard he carries the bat all the way around and, in the umpire's judgment, unintentionally hits the catcher or the ball in back of him on the backswing before the catcher has securely held the ball, it shall be called a strike only (not interference). The ball will be dead, however, and no runner shall advance on the play.


Tim.

When is he OUT? Are you backtracking now?

NFump Sat May 27, 2006 11:28am

The only one backtracking is you, SAump! What's next? You gonna say that you would judge this to be an intentional act by the batter? You change your story more than @@%^! Give it up man.

Rich Ives Sat May 27, 2006 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAump
When is he OUT? Are you backtracking now?


6.06(c) is for when the batter swings AND MISSES and the backswing hits the catcher. That's why it says "before the catcher has securely held the ball, it shall be called a strike only ". It has no bearing on the play at hand.

Carbide Keyman Sat May 27, 2006 03:20pm

As sung by LambChop .................................
 
This is the post that never ends,
It just goes on and on my friend,
Someone just started it not knowing what it 'd cause,
Now SA continues it forever, just because

This is the post that never ends,
It just goes on and on my friend,
Someone just started it not knowing what it'd cause,
Now SA continues it forever, just because ...............................




Doug

LMan Sat May 27, 2006 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives
It has no bearing on the play at hand.

hey, that's never stopped him before!

SanDiegoSteve Sat May 27, 2006 04:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Carbide Keyman
This is the post that never ends,
It just goes on and on my friend,
Someone just started it not knowing what it 'd cause,
Now SA continues it forever, just because

This is the post that never ends,
It just goes on and on my friend,
Someone just started it not knowing what it'd cause,
Now SA continues it forever, just because ...............................

Doug,

You really have done Sherry Lewis proud! I am sure she would have loved to have Lamb Chop sing it!:)

Mmmmm, lamb chops....now I'm hungry!!!:p

SAump Sat May 27, 2006 04:40pm

Pin on another medal for logic
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by NFump
Didn't I cite this to you earlier in this thread? Talk about not reading the whole thread. This cite is closer to what actually happened but still doesn't apply. Did you fall down and hit your head? Maybe it's the psychotropic drugs your therapist is prescribing for you. You really shouldn't abuse those you know.

I never never discussed backswing in the first seven pages. Let me know when the word backswing first appeared by posting the thread number 124. This thread was never about backswing. I also immediately posted, "I have been wrong all along about backswing" in thread #125. Keep twisting it for all you have afterwards. You brought it UP and NOW the 3 pretenders twist it as if I am the ONE defending IT. What a great show. LOL

To my knowledge, you have not cited an original rule, except the shortsighted mistake you made repeatedly earlier in this thread. I will gladly RE-post your mistake below.
----
"6.05 A batter is out when: (h) After hitting or bunting a fair ball, his bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory....etc, etc. This doesn't have anything to do with the original sitch. Wrong rule cite."
----
Please post the thread number where you cited any other rule. You also cited a quote from the LL UIC (AK). Let me clarify,
----
"There is no rule that allows an umpire to call a batter out for throwing the bat, under any circumstances (even if intentional)."
----
Well, are you going to pretend the following rule doesn't exist in OBR, 6.00 - The Batter?
----
"If a whole bat is thrown into fair territory and interferes with a defensive player attempting to make a play, interference shall be called, whether intentional or not. "
----
Better get AK on the phone and let him know about the rule! It a shame when th LL UIC doesn't realize whatever the hell he's talking about. I already know what you have to say for AK. I made this up with a wrong rule cite. The catcher isn't part of the ensuing play at the plate while the baserunner strolls to 3B. YADA YADA YADA.

SAump Sat May 27, 2006 05:52pm

You Don't SAy
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
Doug,
You really have done Sherry Lewis proud! I am sure she would have loved to have Lamb Chop sing it!:)
Mmmmm, lamb chops....now I'm hungry!!!:p

----------
SAFETY first? "F4 and F6 pretending to turn a double play when it's really a fly ball to the outfield in order to fake out the runner is a perfectly acceptable deception, and forces the runner to keep his head in the game. Now, if they do fake a tag, and induce the runner to slide, then we have a problem. Now they have indeed obstructed in FED, LL, and other modified OBR rule sets. In strict OBR it's just part of the game, but most youth ball is safety oriented."

Not LL. I suppose if I had my choice to allow a fake tag on a runner who must slide safely into the bag or YADA YADA YADA {you already know what I was going to SAy}. Reality bites.

SAump Sat May 27, 2006 06:00pm

Two Sided Coin?
 
Why is the catcher the only player to ever get hit by an intentionally pitched bat?

Is it because he is well-protected by all his equipment or is it because he is made vulnerable by his location behind the batter and YOUR current LL rules?

SanDiegoSteve Sat May 27, 2006 06:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAump
----------
SAFETY first? "F4 and F6 pretending to turn a double play when it's really a fly ball to the outfield in order to fake out the runner is a perfectly acceptable deception, and forces the runner to keep his head in the game. Now, if they do fake a tag, and induce the runner to slide, then we have a problem. Now they have indeed obstructed in FED, LL, and other modified OBR rule sets. In strict OBR it's just part of the game, but most youth ball is safety oriented."

Not LL. I suppose if I had my choice to allow a fake tag on a runner who must slide safely into the bag or YADA YADA YADA {you already know what I was going to SAy}. Reality bites.

Yo, SA, listen up:

LL Rule Book:

Rule 2.00 OBSTRUCTION:

"Obstruction is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball, impedes the progress of any runner. A fake tag is considered obstruction."

Now just what did you mean by "Not LL?"

SanDiegoSteve Sat May 27, 2006 06:17pm

Oh, I get it now, you meant that Little League is not safety oriented. That is not true, either.

In Little League, if a batter unintentionally (that means on accident) throws his bat carelessly, a warning is given to him, and his teammates, that the very next time it happens, the offender will be ejected from the game.

If a player intentionally (that means on purpose) throws a bat carelessly or maliciously, he is immediately ejected without any warning whatsoever.

In our original situation, it was an accidental (unintentional, remember?) throwing of the bat. After the play was completely over, the umpire should have called "Time," warned the BR who hit the triple for throwing the bat carelessly, and then warned his team that the next such occurrence would result in an ejection. No out can be called, because by rule (all codes), is not interference unless done intentionally and it actually interferes with the fielder's play, which in the original play, neither of which occurred.

SAump Sat May 27, 2006 06:51pm

Can I get an Amen
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
Oh, I get it now, you meant that Little League is not safety oriented. That is not true, either.

In Little League, if a batter unintentionally (that means on accident) throws his bat carelessly, a warning is given to him, and his teammates, that the very next time it happens, the offender will be ejected from the game.

If a player intentionally (that means on purpose) throws a bat carelessly or maliciously, he is immediately ejected without any warning whatsoever.

In our original situation, it was an accidental (unintentional, remember?) throwing of the bat. After the play was completely over, the umpire should have called "Time," warned the BR who hit the triple for throwing the bat carelessly, and then warned his team that the next such occurrence would result in an ejection. No out can be called, because by rule (all codes), is not interference unless done intentionally and it actually interferes with the fielder's play, which in the original play, neither of which occurred.

------------------------
I agree with your interp 100%. This whole issue boils down to one BIG disagreement between option A and B. The CLUE is that the UMPIRES on the scene, in their judgment, determined that it was INDEED intentional or malicious. They called the batter OUT for interference and ejected the young man without warning.

We can only determine that much from the original sitch, nothing else. It was the RAT who stated it was an accedent. We've all done LL games where a little one is HBP and is "coached" into crying by the SHOCK or PAIN. Then some opposing RAT yells that the little guy has to "make an attempt" to get out of the way. Sometimes, I just want to hit the GUY with a RISING fastball for taking advantage of a little tyke. Sometimes I want to yell back, "I wish it was your KID!"

Of all people, you happen to know my MO very well, and SAFETY is UP there HIGH on my LIST. Many leagues and tournaments have adopted modified rules of play {as BOB stated} and many include mandatory interference calls for carelessly thrown bats which strike a catcher. In the BIGS, the batters actions have consequences and NO ONE does it or defends it. I was taken back, but not surprised, by those who defend it so vigorously over the internet.

Just something for the TALLER ONES to think about.

SAump Sat May 27, 2006 06:57pm

By the way
 
In my judgement, you have the best little graphic guys on this forum. They kill me, especially around Cinco de MAYO.:D

I would love BC to post the WAAMbulence again for my little friend, NFump.:eek:

But that wasn't part of the original sitch either. I know, "Wrong Site.":rolleyes:

SanDiegoSteve Sat May 27, 2006 07:01pm

SA, it has to be intentional and interfere with the play. The batter hit a triple, so his thowing the bat had no bearing on the play. Had he thown the bat intentionally at the catcher as he was fielding a bunt, for example, and interfered with his attempt to field a batted ball, it would be interference, and the BR would be called out. But not on a ball hit to the outfield, unless the BR somehow intentionally threw the bat 170 feet or so, and hit the outfielder as he was trying to field the ball.

Do you see the difference? Even if the umpire determined that it was intentional, it would not be called interference, only malicious contact, and would be ejected after the play. A pinch runner would take his place at 3rd base. No out would result. Comprende senor?

NFump Sat May 27, 2006 07:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAump
I never never discussed backswing in the first seven pages. Let me know when the word backswing first appeared by posting the thread number 124. This thread was never about backswing. I also immediately posted, "I have been wrong all along about backswing" in thread #125. Keep twisting it for all you have afterwards. You brought it UP and NOW the 3 pretenders twist it as if I am the ONE defending IT. What a great show. LOL

You didn't? Hmmmm...post #4 by gulf breeze when he clarified his original post. Then YOU in post #5 asked "A) While hitting the catcher on the back swing, the batter was still holding onto the bat in the back of the batter's box.
or
B) While releasing the bat after the swing, the bat flew backward and hit the catcher after being tossed by the batter as the batter began to run to first base."


To my knowledge, you have not cited an original rule, except the shortsighted mistake you made repeatedly earlier in this thread. I will gladly RE-post your mistake below.
----
"6.05 A batter is out when: (h) After hitting or bunting a fair ball, his bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory....etc, etc. This doesn't have anything to do with the original sitch. Wrong rule cite."

It is the wrong rule cite. The bat (whole or not) was not thrown into fair territory nor did it interfere with a player making a play. This by your own admission.
----
Please post the thread number where you cited any other rule. You also cited a quote from the LL UIC (AK). Let me clarify,
----
"There is no rule that allows an umpire to call a batter out for throwing the bat, under any circumstances (even if intentional)."

Yep and by your own admission there isn't any such rule. Remember? You said to use 9.01c.
----
Well, are you going to pretend the following rule doesn't exist in OBR, 6.00 - The Batter?

???
----
"If a whole bat is thrown into fair territory and interferes with a defensive player attempting to make a play, interference shall be called, whether intentional or not. "

Already went over this. WRONG RULE CITE!!!!
----
Better get AK on the phone and let him know about the rule! It a shame when th LL UIC doesn't realize whatever the hell he's talking about. I already know what you have to say for AK. I made this up with a wrong rule cite. The catcher isn't part of the ensuing play at the plate while the baserunner strolls to 3B. YADA YADA YADA.



I knew you'd see the light. Now YOU'RE finally GETTING it.

NFump Sat May 27, 2006 07:26pm

SAump: "In my judgement, you have the best little graphic guys on this forum. They kill me, especially around Cinco de MAYO.:D

I would love BC to post the WAAMbulence again for my little friend, NFump.:eek:
But that wasn't part of the original sitch either. I know, "Wrong Site.":rolleyes:"

And you're my tiny friend SAump.;)

SAump Sat May 27, 2006 07:36pm

Story time
 
Batter leads off with a solid 1B to OF and throws the bat right into the catcher. "Time. Coach that is a warning on your batter for carelessly throwing a bat in the direction of the catcher." It was obvious that the catcher took a good shot.

The kid comes up to the plate at the end of the ballgame, gets another hit and throws the bat into the ground rolling up to the catcher's feet. I'm thinking, "Thank God that this catcher was standing between me and that KID." I call the coach over and tell him that KID is dangerous and needs instruction on how to properly release the bat after making contact. Everybody there knows what I was telling that coach.

The kid does the same thing a month later and is immediately ejected and called out for INTERFERENCE by an older VET. The coach didn't like the call one bit but kept control of himself during the heated discussion. It was obvious to me that the reputation that KID carried around the league during the month was a primary reason for that call. I wasn't surprised that the well-mannered coach I had talked to a month earlier was now arguing with the UMP after the game over rule interpretations.

"I'd talk to that player’s manager about it, so the player can be instructed. If it keeps happening, the manager should take the player out of the lineup." Yeah right. As long as that KID keeps hitting the ball, that coach will never ever think of removing him from the line-UP.

Some things will never change.

NFump Sat May 27, 2006 07:54pm

Well, here it is.......WORD.

BigUmp56 Sat May 27, 2006 09:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAump
Batter leads off with a solid 1B to OF and throws the bat right into the catcher. "Time. Coach that is a warning on your batter for carelessly throwing a bat in the direction of the catcher." It was obvious that the catcher took a good shot.

The kid comes up to the plate at the end of the ballgame, gets another hit and throws the bat into the ground rolling up to the catcher's feet. I'm thinking, "Thank God that this catcher was standing between me and that KID." I call the coach over and tell him that KID is dangerous and needs instruction on how to properly release the bat after making contact. Everybody there knows what I was telling that coach.

The kid does the same thing a month later and is immediately ejected and called out for INTERFERENCE by an older VET. The coach didn't like the call one bit but kept control of himself during the heated discussion. It was obvious to me that the reputation that KID carried around the league during the month was a primary reason for that call. I wasn't surprised that the well-mannered coach I had talked to a month earlier was now arguing with the UMP after the game over rule interpretations.

"I'd talk to that player’s manager about it, so the player can be instructed. If it keeps happening, the manager should take the player out of the lineup." Yeah right. As long as that KID keeps hitting the ball, that coach will never ever think of removing him from the line-UP.

Some things will never change.


So, now you admitt that in the past you've issued a warning on the first offense for a carelessly thrown bat. Then when he did it again you failed to follow through on your threat and issued a second warning. Now, you're showing contrition because he didn't learn his lesson the first time? How could he when you failed to properly address the situation.


Tim.

Bainer Sat May 27, 2006 09:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigUmp56
I don't see interference here. What I see is a carelessly discarded bat and an umpire with a limited understanding of the rules of youth baseball.
Tim.

I'm not sure that there is an umpire out there that would come to this decision on his own.

Alos, umpires, regarless of their understanding of the rules don't have the ability to suspend someone for a tourney.

This situation was either explained to the tournament committee incorrectly or incompletely, or the committee is taking NOTHING for granted and throwing the book at this kid.

Either way, it's out of the umpire's hands- it's no longer about the call.


Bainer.

SAump Sat May 27, 2006 10:02pm

Not at All
 
I'm saying I too should have ejected him after the catcher took the brunt of the first carelessly thrown bat. I am saying the second thrown bat was a close call, but not the gut buster that deserved immediate ejection. I'm saying the crowd knew about the kid and the VET UMP didn't hesitate removing him from the ballgame. It was the EXPECTED CALL.;)

Bainer Sat May 27, 2006 10:09pm

EXPECTED CALL is the scariest term I have ever heard in my life.


Bainer.

NFump Sat May 27, 2006 11:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAump
I'm saying I too should have ejected him after the catcher took the brunt of the first carelessly thrown bat. I am saying the second thrown bat was a close call, but not the gut buster that deserved immediate ejection. I'm saying the crowd knew about the kid and the VET UMP didn't hesitate removing him from the ballgame. It was the EXPECTED CALL.;)

And you would have been well within the rules to do so. I take it then that this sitch happened to you when you were a "rookie"?

BigUmp56 Sun May 28, 2006 08:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bainer
I'm not sure that there is an umpire out there that would come to this decision on his own.

Alos, umpires, regarless of their understanding of the rules don't have the ability to suspend someone for a tourney.

This situation was either explained to the tournament committee incorrectly or incompletely, or the committee is taking NOTHING for granted and throwing the book at this kid.

Either way, it's out of the umpire's hands- it's no longer about the call.


Bainer.


Bainer:

There are certain tournaments that prescribe a mandatory removal for the remainder of the event should an ejection occur. I'm not debating the validity of the ejection. What we've been trying to impart to SA is that the only rules set that allows for an out to be called for a carelessly discarded bat is Dizzy Dean youth baseball.


Tim.

LMan Sun May 28, 2006 09:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigUmp56
What we've been trying to impart to SA is that the only rules set that allows for an out to be called for a carelessly discarded bat is Dizzy Dean youth baseball.


Tim.

Lord knows this thread has made me dizzy enough.... :p

SanDiegoSteve Sun May 28, 2006 10:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
This whole friggin' thread is making me dizzy, Dean.:eek:

LMan,

I realize this is a very long thread, but post #86 already contained this humor. You need to get your own material.:D

SAump Sun May 28, 2006 10:34am

Must I Maker Myself Clear
 
You're saying:
"1 - A coach, player, substitute, attendant or other bench personnel shall not: carelessly throw a BAT."
The penalty is a warning and an ejection.
-------------------
I'm saying you are applying a rule that covers basically everybody on both teams to protect or allow the batter's ACTION to remain "unpunished." What do I mean when I say unpunished? A warning does NOTHING and you agree with the ejection. But you also allow a substitution. So if a coach can replace the batter after a hit with a faster RUNNER, he gains an ADVANTAGE. YOU reward the offense in a situation when the course of a ballgame may be decided. In the final two innings, the batter may never return to the plate. You're a NICE guy.
--------------------
My second point is that if you allow the catcher to receive two crushing blows in one game, he is NOT likely to care whether the batter ever receives proper instruction afterward. You have DONE NOTHING to protect the SAFETY of the individuals INVOLVED in a GAME that should be decided on FAIR PLAY.
--------------------
My third point is that some UMPS are so focused with the RULE SET that it becomes an hindrance to the reality of serious injury taking place on the field. Would you like me to list the changes over the course of the last 5 years that were brought about to INSURE SAFETY. It is the UMPIRE'S obligation to protect the integrity of the game. You, SIR, have failed in this regard and have been called OUT onto the carpet.
--------------------
My final point is I admitted that I would warn and eject and follow the rules up to a certain point. I can not condone serious injury in that analysis when I stated, "had you been more willing to discuss the situation like a REAL man."
Any RAT who approaches dialogue with one objective, whatever is best for his team at that moment in time, is NOT A REAL MAN.
--------------------
Hey SDS and NFump, my favorite thread was locked. It is hard to play the devils advocate in every situation without looking like an ***. But the satisfaction of the political tickling with the BIG DOGS and the unexpected responses is my reward. LOL. I'll keep looking for another opportunity like this.;)

LMan Sun May 28, 2006 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
LMan,

I realize this is a very long thread, but post #86 already contained this humor. You need to get your own material.:D

You dont think I could actually stand to read all that, do you?? :p That it was in "Post #86 (!!!)" is indictment enough!

NFump Sun May 28, 2006 10:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAump
You're saying:
"1 - A coach, player, substitute, attendant or other bench personnel shall not: carelessly throw a BAT."
The penalty is a warning and an ejection.
-------------------
I'm saying your applying a rule that covers basically everybody on both teams to protect or allow the batter's ACTION to remain "unpunished." What do I mean when I say unpunished? A warning does NOTHING and you agree with the ejection. But you also allow a substitution. So if a coach can replace the batter after a hit with a faster RUNNER, he gains an ADVANTAGE. YOU reward the offense in a situation when the course of a ballgame may be decided. In the final two innings, the batter may never return to the plate. You're a NICE guy.
--------------------
My second point is that if you allow the catcher to receive two crushing blows in one game, he is NOT likely to care whether the batter ever receives proper instruction afterward. You have DONE NOTHING to protect the SAFETY of the individuals INVOLVED in a GAME that should be decided on FAIR PLAY.
--------------------
My third point is that some UMPS are so focused with the RULE SET that it becomes an hindrance to the reality of serious injury taking place on the field. Would you like me to list the changes over the course of the last 5 years that were brought about to INSURE SAFETY. It is the UMPIRE'S obligation to protect the integrity of the game. You, SIR, have failed in this regard and have been called OUT onto the carpet.
--------------------
My final point is I admitted that I would warn and eject and follow the rules up to a certain point. I can not condone serious injury in that analysis when I stated, "had you been more willing to discuss the situation like a REAL man."
Any RAT who approaches dialogue with one objective, whatever is best for his team at that moment in time, is NOT A REAL MAN.
--------------------
Hey SDS and NFump, my favorite thread was locked. It is hard to play the devils advocate in every situation without looking like an ***. But the satisfaction of the politickling and the unexpected responses is my reward. LOL. I'll keep looking for another opportunity like this.;)

It was never about when to eject, but about the "out" you were trying to get. If it's bad enough, toss the little bugger, no warning (to him anyway).

As for "playing" the devil's advocate, there's a point where it's just to much. But you keep looking for "opportunities" and we'll keep "rewarding" you.:)

SAump Sun May 28, 2006 10:52am

Awareness
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by NFump
It was never about when to eject, but about the "out" you were trying to get. If it's bad enough, toss the little bugger, no warning (to him anyway).

As for "playing" the devil's advocate, there's a point where it's just to much. But you keep looking for "opportunities" and we'll keep "rewarding" you.:)

I'm well aware of the PACK MENTALITY.

Too bad, you can't focus on the message.

An OUT is sorely needed in this sitch.

SanDiegoSteve Sun May 28, 2006 10:58am

SA,

I am still trying to figure out why you insist on creating an artificial out in the original situation. I explained in detail, as did others, that what the batter did by accidently releasing the bat and striking the catcher on a ball hit to the outfield did not constitute interference, and interference would have been necessary in order to call the batter out.

Grasp that, and you will see that no out can be created, as the rules do not allow it in the given situation.

You can certainly make up scenarios in which you can get an out, but the situation we have been discussing ad nauseum is not one of them.

umpduck11 Sun May 28, 2006 12:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAump



An OUT is sorely needed in this sitch.

An out May be needed, but calling one in this situation
is indefensible. There is nothing in the rules to say you can
call the out. I suppose you would use 9:01c, but most
reasonable umpires would not. Of course, most of us don't
make up rules, we use those already in the book.

.

NFump Sun May 28, 2006 06:08pm

See?:( You just can't let it go. An out is not needed here. That's my opinion. I got your message in your first post, however, it is apparent the one not getting the message is YOU(:confused:).

"Of course, most of us don't make up rules, we use those already in the book."

Umpduck's statement sums up what we've been telling you all along. Stop trying to impose your sense of fairplay into the game.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1