![]() |
NFHS BR/RL Inter
National Federation of High School Rules
r2 and r3 Less than two outs Batter performs a "safety squeeze" and bunts the ball up the first base line. Ball is 6" FOUL and as F1 bends over to knock it "further foul" but has not touched the ball(i.e. touching ball foul so it won't roll back to fair ground) the BR runs into him. You make the call! Regards, |
Besides "FOUL," what call would anyone actually want to make?
|
If the ball had no chance of becoming fair, it's FOUL.
If it did have a chance to roll fair, it's INT. |
Where did the ball end up?
|
Quote:
I would have be CERTAIN that the ball had a chance to become fair, ie rolling towards fair with enough roll to make it there to make this call. |
Quote:
|
I agree that it *makes sense* to look at where the ball ends up, but offensive interference is not a delayed dead ball situation. Theoretically, the call would need to be made immediately, so what happens after that point would be irrelevant. Having said that, I still don't have a better solution. Personally, I've probably got a foul ball. :)
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24pm. |