The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 03, 2006, 07:32am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tustin, Michigan
Posts: 403
FED - When to call pitch illegal?

FED rules last night. Runners on. Pitcher steps onto the rubber with his hands already together in the set position. He never started with the ball at his side or behind his back as required by rule. I know this is the beginning of an illegal pitch (balk) but since a balk in FED is an immediate dead ball situation, when do I call it? As soon as he steps on the rubber? When he separates his hands to pitch? Or on the pitch delivery?

I know this is a moot point sonce its gonna stop any play anyway, I just want to be sure that I call it at the right time...not too soon, not too late.
__________________
"When I umpire I may not always be right, but I am always final!"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 03, 2006, 07:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,772
Umpire's choice

Quote:
Originally Posted by blueump
FED rules last night. Runners on. Pitcher steps onto the rubber with his hands already together in the set position. He never started with the ball at his side or behind his back as required by rule. I know this is the beginning of an illegal pitch (balk) but since a balk in FED is an immediate dead ball situation, when do I call it? As soon as he steps on the rubber? When he separates his hands to pitch? Or on the pitch delivery?

I know this is a moot point sonce its gonna stop any play anyway, I just want to be sure that I call it at the right time...not too soon, not too late.

You should actually call it immediately (as soon as he steps on the rubber with hands together), but if you wait its no big deal.

Main thing is that you call it!

Thansk
David
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 03, 2006, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueump
FED rules last night. Runners on. Pitcher steps onto the rubber with his hands already together in the set position. He never started with the ball at his side or behind his back as required by rule. I know this is the beginning of an illegal pitch (balk) but since a balk in FED is an immediate dead ball situation, when do I call it? As soon as he steps on the rubber? When he separates his hands to pitch? Or on the pitch delivery?

I know this is a moot point sonce its gonna stop any play anyway, I just want to be sure that I call it at the right time...not too soon, not too late.
In FED, F1 can step on the rubber with his hands together! But that is where his hands have to stay until he breaks them to deliver the pitch.

FED 6-1-2

ART. 2 ... For the wind-up position, the pitcher is not restricted as to how he

shall hold the ball. A pitcher assumes the windup position when his hands are:
(a) together in front of the body;
(b) both hands are at his side;
(c) either hand is in front of the body and the other hand is at his side. The pitcher's non-pivot foot shall be in any position on or behind a line extending through the front edge of the pitcher's plate..........
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 03, 2006, 10:23am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy6900
In FED, F1 can step on the rubber with his hands together! But that is where his hands have to stay until he breaks them to deliver the pitch.

FED 6-1-2

ART. 2 ... For the wind-up position, the pitcher is not restricted as to how he

shall hold the ball. A pitcher assumes the windup position when his hands are:
(a) together in front of the body;
(b) both hands are at his side;
(c) either hand is in front of the body and the other hand is at his side. The pitcher's non-pivot foot shall be in any position on or behind a line extending through the front edge of the pitcher's plate..........
Ozzy,

All that is true, except blueump said the set position, not the wind-up.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 03, 2006, 11:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CT
Posts: 2,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
Ozzy,

All that is true, except blueump said the set position, not the wind-up.
Ah yes, so he did...... never mind!
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 05, 2006, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 114
blueump - Could you clarify the starting position ?
So far the pitcher has done nothing wrong by your description.
By rule (6-1-2;6-1-3) the BALL may be either in the pitching hand or the gloved hand. For the strecth/set the pitching HAND must be at the side or behind the back. Last time I checked it waas legal to pitch from the windup, even with runners on. Not smart maybe, but legal.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 05, 2006, 12:33pm
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by woolnojg
blueump - Could you clarify the starting position ?
So far the pitcher has done nothing wrong by your description.
By rule (6-1-2;6-1-3) the BALL may be either in the pitching hand or the gloved hand. For the strecth/set the pitching HAND must be at the side or behind the back. Last time I checked it waas legal to pitch from the windup, even with runners on. Not smart maybe, but legal.
Once again, blueump said that it was the set position.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Joe West's Illegal Pitch call in the Cards/Pirates game Illini_Ref Baseball 37 Thu Aug 26, 2004 02:05pm
Would you call this an illegal pitch? DaveASA/FED Softball 5 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:03pm
When does an leegal pitch BECOME and illegal pitch. Illini_Ref Baseball 4 Fri Apr 23, 2004 02:06pm
Legal Pitch vs. Illegal Pitch ? Deion Softball 15 Mon Jun 30, 2003 04:24pm
illegal pitch / call timing Bandit Softball 6 Tue May 14, 2002 08:27pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1