The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 12, 2001, 08:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 38
"Sit 2- If F1 disengaged from the mound he can fake towards first. If he didn't he must throw there."

I am not looking for a fight, only an explanation I can understand.
The rule book explaines how to legally step off the rubber. It does not tell you how to legally "disengage the rubber". If the RHP feints a throw to third and he is no longer in contact with the rubber, does that make him a fielder, or is he still considered the pitcher, because he has not steped off the back of the rubber with his pivot foot. If it makes him a fielder then most throws attempting to pick off a runner at third would come after he disengaged the rubber, so if they went into dead ball territory runners would get two bases. I do not think they can have it both ways.
__________________
DVM
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1