The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jul 10, 2001, 09:48am
Official Forum Member

As a general statement, I think most of us want to move up as we gain more experience. While we all "love" to umpire and do it not necessarily for the money, I often wonder is it worth it.

I have been umpiring for 12 yrs. now. Started out at LL and have been HS certified for 4 yrs, now. While I am appreciative of the advancement I received, started out at the modified level (7th / 8th graders) and am now working a collegiate wood bat league, I am now pondering if I should cut back on some of these "advanced" levels.

Why! In general as we move-up more headaches arise. In Legion or Connie Mack which are strict leagues as far as discipline goes, one receives a $50 (7 innings) or $60 (9 innings) game FEE. The CWBL (Collegiate Wood Bat League) FEES are $60.00 for 7 and $70.00 for 9. However,

The FEES are $10 higher but the headaches seem like they are a 1,000 times greater especially in close games which most of them are using wood bats instead of metal. I had a game last night where F1 had a nasty curve and was making the hitters look foolish. One particular batter took exception said the magic words and was tossed. One other player said Blue we have been off balance (referring to my strike zone) all game long. Well keeping hitters off balance is F1's job.

I am now pondering whether or not to umpire these games next year or at the very least reduce the amount of these type games as in general I do not have fun / enjoy umpiring this league. I enjoy umpiring but it isn't my profession.

As you can imagine, Most Umpires chomp at the bit to umpire the Connie Mack / Legion games because generally speaking these games are enjoyable and one receives less headaches.