The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   The turn past 1st (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/26145-turn-past-1st.html)

tgranillo Wed Apr 19, 2006 10:39pm

The turn past 1st
 
This is a really simple question (I'm a Little League Chief Umpire) but I'm trying to find definitive guidance. A batter runner overrunning 1st doesn't HAVE to turn right to safely return to 1st base without risk of tag out. He can turn left, so long as in the judgement of the umpire he returns immediately to base and makes no attempt to continue to second.

That's my understanding, but the rule book doesn't address the turn, only the action of the runner returning immediately to 1st base. Any guidance you're aware of? Thanks. --t.

DG Wed Apr 19, 2006 11:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tgranillo
This is a really simple question (I'm a Little League Chief Umpire) but I'm trying to find definitive guidance. A batter runner overrunning 1st doesn't HAVE to turn right to safely return to 1st base without risk of tag out. He can turn left, so long as in the judgement of the umpire he returns immediately to base and makes no attempt to continue to second.

That's my understanding, but the rule book doesn't address the turn, only the action of the runner returning immediately to 1st base. Any guidance you're aware of? Thanks. --t.

Your interpretation is correct. See website below for this and 39 other common misinterps...

http://eteamz.active.com/baseball/ru...ths/index.cfm?

SanDiegoSteve Wed Apr 19, 2006 11:07pm

You are correct. The runner may turn right or left, and return immediately. If he makes a move toward second, he is in jeopardy of being tagged out. Rules 7.08(c) and (j), 7.10(c).

Durham Thu Apr 20, 2006 02:45pm

I never knew that most mechanics had the PU make this call, I always had the BU making this call, of course the BU can get help, but it is still his call.

If he makes any movement that can be justified as an attempt, then he can be put out. Do not place the emphasis on an immediate return, b/c some think if the B/R takes a second or two too long getting back, then he can be put out. Have your guys focus on the attempt/no attempt.

jwwashburn Thu Apr 20, 2006 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Durham
I never knew that most mechanics had the PU make this call, I always had the BU making this call, of course the BU can get help, but it is still his call.

If he makes any movement that can be justified as an attempt, then he can be put out. Do not place the emphasis on an immediate return, b/c some think if the B/R takes a second or two too long getting back, then he can be put out. Have your guys focus on the attempt/no attempt.

OK, I could be totally wrong on that. It has been so long since I dealt with the situation, I should have looked it up before posting.

Joe

RPatrino Thu Apr 20, 2006 03:12pm

Durham, which mechanics have the PU making this call? IMHO, the only time the PU could make this call is if U2 goes out on a trouble ball from the A position.

Durham Thu Apr 20, 2006 03:19pm

I responded to jwwashburn, he said that the PU made the call, but he deleted the post and retracted the comment.

jwwashburn Thu Apr 20, 2006 03:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Durham
I responded to jwwashburn, he said that the PU made the call, but he deleted the post and retracted the comment.

Yep.

One of those things that pops into the ol noggin and it sounded right when i posted it...but, now I realize that that it was dumb>

RPatrino Thu Apr 20, 2006 03:29pm

That explains it!!! Something I learned a long time ago..."they can't use what you don't say against you"!!

Take Care!!

Bob P.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1