The point is that the manager could list the players in any fielding position. He could put Guerrero at 3B, but when he goes on the field he goes out to right field. When Torre comes out to you and says, why is Pedro in right, he is listed at third? What do you do? Overturn the out, throw the player out of the game, toss the manager? No. The rule book says that any defensive player may play at any place on fair territory. And if it is legal to list the right fielder as position 5, what difference would it make if he listed everyone as 9?
|