The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2001, 07:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 8
Lightbulb

Yes, there must be a proper throw to retire the runner, but there are even finer lines to draw ...

As you describe the play, the runner would only be out of the lane while his left foot is on the ground. So, if the ball hits the runner when his left foot is not in contact, you do not have a running lane violation!

There is a still finer line: the runner is permitted to cross into fair territory to touch the base. This is usually acceptable about 2 steps (or just under ten feet) prior to the base. The base is in fair territory, how can a runner touch it if you require him to run in foul?

Originally the bases were half in fair, half in foul territory. That is when the rule was created. The configuration of the bases changed but the wording of the rule remained constant. The application of the rule changed, but try to find documentation on that.

In your case the throw was obviously errant, so you cannot even consider the interference call.

Brent
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1