The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 15, 2006, 07:08pm
DG DG is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4,022
Quote:
Originally posted by PWL
Quote:
Originally posted by DG
Your play sounds like he had possession long enough for it to be called an out.

I believe the rule you stated has to do more with catch and release.

Two different plays all together. Tag out and force out.

I did not quote a rule, and a play on BR at 1B is not a force.

Under JEA this subject is covered under TAG - "unlike a catch, a legal tag is based on the status of the ball at the time the runner or base is touched and not on the final proof of possession. So tagging a runner and tagging a base are similar, and unrelated to voluntary release of a CATCH of a batted ball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1