The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Jan 06, 2006, 01:27pm
Official Forum Member

Sportsmanship

As an umpire it easy to deal with piss poor sportsmanship, however, I volunteered to manage my daughters 1st grade basketball team and have been shocked by the lack of sportsmanship and intensity (by the parents) for these little girls to achieve perfection!

My personality is eject them, however, now as a coach I have to deal with these people. Does anyone know of good website to download literature about youth sports and parents needing to behave? Thanks
Old Fri Jan 06, 2006, 03:01pm
Official Forum Member

Thank you, I will pass the article outs to the parents. It's my opinion that some games are better with empty bleachers and I'm thankful I do not unpire little kids.
Old Fri Jan 06, 2006, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member

You need to have a meeting with them and tell them:

1. There will be no abusive or even negative comments on the officiating.
2. There will be no negative comments allowed against a team member or an opponent, whether its their child or otherwise.
3. There will be no negative comments voiced about the coaching. If they have an issue, they need to take it up with you privately.

Essentially, all comments will be positive or there won't be any.

These people are acting like children themselves and as such, they need guidance. I suspect that if you lay down the law, that will take care of 90% of your issues. The other 10%, you'll just have to deal with (I'd advise removing them from the gym), but you'd have to deal with that anyway.

If they take their child off the team, in my view, that's a problem solved.
Old Fri Jan 06, 2006, 05:20pm
Official Forum Member