The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 19, 2005, 05:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Tee

The ONLY place in OBR that it says an official scorer cannot notify a team of a BOOT is in rule 10. If you heard it at umpire school they were using 10.01 as the basis.

6.07 says: "The umpire shall not direct the attention of any person to the presence in the batter's box of an improper batter. This rule is designed to require constant vigilance by the players and managers of both teams"

Note the absence of an admonition to the official scorer.

The admonition to the official scorer is in 10.01(b)(5)
"The scorer shall not call the attention of the umpire or of any member of either team to the fact that a player is batting out of turn."


There is NO definition of "Steal" or "Stolen Base" anywhere in rules 1-9. The conditions of what constitutes a stolen base are in 10.08.

Being a coach does not mean one is wrong.



__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1