The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 16, 2005, 09:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
Quote:
Originally posted by Justme
I forgot 8.2.3 Situation (page 62 of the FED case book

B1 hits a slow roller to F5 and arrives safely but misses first base. F3 catches the ball with his foot off the base and casually steps on first base, though he believes the runner has beaten the throw.
RULING: B1 is out. Because a force play is being made on he runner and is the result of continuing action, F3 is required to appeal the missed base and does so by stepping on the missed base.
IIRC, the general concensus is that the case play posted above is left over from the days of the FED's "accidental appeal." It should have been removed (or changed) when the rule changed.

A little later in the case book, you'll see similar plays where the ruling is "this is not an appeal."

Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1