The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 15, 2005, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Quote:
Originally posted by Monguila
Please help me with this call.

Batter/runner beats the throw to first, but misses the base. The umpire calls him safe. On his way back to first, he is tagged and the umpires signals safe again. The manager comes out to argue and the umpire says: "can not do your job for you, coach. Play ball." Before the next pitch, the play is appealed at first, and the runner (previous batter) is called out.

Did the umpire get it right?

Thanks in advance,

Luis
Well, the umpire got at least part of it right! He did use the proper mechanic for the miss of first base, but he should have called the runner out when he was tagged going back to first.

Tagging the runner would constitute an unmistakeable appeal. No need to return the ball to the mound to make an appeal.


Tim.
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1