The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 25, 2005, 01:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 4,222
Quote:
Originally posted by Monguila
Hello everyone.
A friend told me that it is a balk when a first-baseman holds runners with one foot in foul territory. Frankly, this was news to me. I also browsed the rule book and could not find it.

Is he correct? If so, is the act of having one foot in foul territory what constitutes the balk or must the pitcher also have to throw to the base?

Thank you in advance,

LR
Your friend is not correct. This myth comes from a misreading of OBR 4.03 and 4.03(a), in which the penalty appplies only to 4.03(a).

If the opposing coach complains, tell F3 to get his foot in fair territory.
__________________
GB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1