The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Where's Peter? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/21942-wheres-peter.html)

Rich Mon Aug 29, 2005 09:26pm

There are two writers on the paid site worth renewing my subscription over -- Tee and Peter.

What happened to Peter and why are his planned articles not in the "On Deck" section?

--Rich

Carl Childress Mon Aug 29, 2005 11:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
There are two writers on the paid site worth renewing my subscription over -- Tee and Peter.

What happened to Peter and why are his planned articles not in the "On Deck" section?

--Rich

Mr. Osborne has been very busy of late -- with his day job.

He has no articles in the queue.

Perhaps an email from you might jog his creativity.

Rich Tue Aug 30, 2005 07:01am

Quote:

Originally posted by Carl Childress
Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
There are two writers on the paid site worth renewing my subscription over -- Tee and Peter.

What happened to Peter and why are his planned articles not in the "On Deck" section?

--Rich

Mr. Osborne has been very busy of late -- with his day job.

He has no articles in the queue.

Perhaps an email from you might jog his creativity.

Nah, if there's one thing I know you only write when the feeling hits you. Oh, and I also know what it's like to be busy on the day job as well.

piaa_ump Tue Aug 30, 2005 08:28am

good article
 
Also Agree, I like the stuff Peter Osborne writes.......looking forward to his return. Until then there is a good article by Roper up today.........

Stan

Rich Tue Aug 30, 2005 05:25pm

Re: good article
 
Quote:

Originally posted by piaa_ump
Also Agree, I like the stuff Peter Osborne writes.......looking forward to his return. Until then there is a good article by Roper up today.........

Stan

Except I would never interpret "taking the rubber" as anything other than what is intended -- pitching to a batter.

The umpire in the story should've just ejected the manager. Too much effort, unwarranted, in keeping someone around who doesn't deserve it.

Rich Ives Tue Aug 30, 2005 07:27pm

I think you have made a rare mistake Rich


MLBUM 3.4:

"A substitution is completed and the player is considered as having entered the game when the manager or his designee notifies the plate umpire of the substitution. If no such notification is given to the umpire or after notification no announcement is made, the player shall be considered as having entered the game when:

"(1) If a pitcher, he takes his place on the pitcher's plate prior to delivering a pitch (preparatory or
otherwise);"

Carl Childress Tue Aug 30, 2005 08:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Ives
I think you have made a rare mistake Rich


MLBUM 3.4:

"A substitution is completed and the player is considered as having entered the game when the manager or his designee notifies the plate umpire of the substitution. If no such notification is given to the umpire or after notification no announcement is made, the player shall be considered as having entered the game when:

"(1) If a pitcher, he takes his place on the pitcher's plate prior to delivering a pitch (preparatory or
otherwise);"

Memoirs of several former professional umpires mention firestorms that occurred when they properly enforced the rule.

But note that Mr. Fronheiser made no claim that what he did was right. All he said was: "I would never interpret 'taking the rubber' as anything other than what is intended -- pitching to a batter."

Considering the points you make in your upcoming article, that shouldn't be hard for you to understand, if not approve of.


Rich Ives Tue Aug 30, 2005 09:26pm

Approve? Well it helps prove the point.

jumpmaster Tue Aug 30, 2005 10:03pm

Re: Re: good article
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
Quote:

Originally posted by piaa_ump
Also Agree, I like the stuff Peter Osborne writes.......looking forward to his return. Until then there is a good article by Roper up today.........

Stan

Except I would never interpret "taking the rubber" as anything other than what is intended -- pitching to a batter.

The umpire in the story should've just ejected the manager. Too much effort, unwarranted, in keeping someone around who doesn't deserve it.

you miss the point...an ejection was the easy way out, and FWIW, considered by the 16 yr old umpire. The umpire decided to make a point.

This past Saturday, I worked a game with the young chap's father. Comment overheard in the dugout..."****, we got Roper and Marts. Roper is the head umpire up here and Marts is the dad of that kid that f****d the Deers. Marts taught his boy everything he knows. If his boy knows the rules...No pushin' these guys around..."

I just smiled and went about my business.


Rich Tue Aug 30, 2005 10:24pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Carl Childress
Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Ives
I think you have made a rare mistake Rich


MLBUM 3.4:

"A substitution is completed and the player is considered as having entered the game when the manager or his designee notifies the plate umpire of the substitution. If no such notification is given to the umpire or after notification no announcement is made, the player shall be considered as having entered the game when:

"(1) If a pitcher, he takes his place on the pitcher's plate prior to delivering a pitch (preparatory or
otherwise);"

Memoirs of several former professional umpires mention firestorms that occurred when they properly enforced the rule.

But note that Mr. Fronheiser made no claim that what he did was right. All he said was: "I would never interpret 'taking the rubber' as anything other than what is intended -- pitching to a batter."

Considering the points you make in your upcoming article, that shouldn't be hard for you to understand, if not approve of.


Oh, I have a copy of the MLBUM and know this citation. Sometimes it's nice to know that a citation is so obscure that even a protest committee wouldn't find it :)

Carl Childress Tue Aug 30, 2005 10:37pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
Quote:

Originally posted by Carl Childress
Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Ives
I think you have made a rare mistake Rich


MLBUM 3.4:

"A substitution is completed and the player is considered as having entered the game when the manager or his designee notifies the plate umpire of the substitution. If no such notification is given to the umpire or after notification no announcement is made, the player shall be considered as having entered the game when:

"(1) If a pitcher, he takes his place on the pitcher's plate prior to delivering a pitch (preparatory or
otherwise);"

Memoirs of several former professional umpires mention firestorms that occurred when they properly enforced the rule.

But note that Mr. Fronheiser made no claim that what he did was right. All he said was: "I would never interpret 'taking the rubber' as anything other than what is intended -- pitching to a batter."

Considering the points you make in your upcoming article, that shouldn't be hard for you to understand, if not approve of.


Oh, I have a copy of the MLBUM and know this citation. Sometimes it's nice to know that a citation is so obscure that even a protest committee wouldn't find it :)

Well, gosh: The protest committee may not have the MLBUM, but I'll bet a dollar to a penny they have the OBR:

3.08(a): "If no announcement of a substitution is made, the substitute shall be considerfed as having entered the game when - (1) If a pitcher, he take his place on the pitcher's plate."

FED is different - and better:

(3-1-1): "Should there be no announcement of substitutions, a substitute has entered the game <i>when the ball is alive</i> and: ... (b) a pitcher takes his place on the pitcher's plate."

Surely this statute doesn't come as a surprise to you.

BigUmp56 Tue Aug 30, 2005 10:38pm


I don't subscribe to the paid side as of yet, so I did not read the article you are discussing.

Are you discussing a player, other than the pitcher, throwing warm up pitches from the rubber being forced to face at least one batter?

Thanks,

Tim.

Carl Childress Tue Aug 30, 2005 10:45pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BigUmp56

I don't subscribe to the paid side as of yet, so I did not read the article you are discussing.

Are you discussing a player, other than the pitcher, throwing warm up pitches from the rubber being forced to face at least one batter?

Thanks,

Tim.

Yes.

No time like the present to subscribe. If you itemize, it's a deductible expense.

Rich Wed Aug 31, 2005 06:46am

Quote:

Originally posted by Carl Childress
Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
Quote:

Originally posted by Carl Childress
Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Ives
I think you have made a rare mistake Rich


MLBUM 3.4:

"A substitution is completed and the player is considered as having entered the game when the manager or his designee notifies the plate umpire of the substitution. If no such notification is given to the umpire or after notification no announcement is made, the player shall be considered as having entered the game when:

"(1) If a pitcher, he takes his place on the pitcher's plate prior to delivering a pitch (preparatory or
otherwise);"

Memoirs of several former professional umpires mention firestorms that occurred when they properly enforced the rule.

But note that Mr. Fronheiser made no claim that what he did was right. All he said was: "I would never interpret 'taking the rubber' as anything other than what is intended -- pitching to a batter."

Considering the points you make in your upcoming article, that shouldn't be hard for you to understand, if not approve of.


Oh, I have a copy of the MLBUM and know this citation. Sometimes it's nice to know that a citation is so obscure that even a protest committee wouldn't find it :)

Well, gosh: The protest committee may not have the MLBUM, but I'll bet a dollar to a penny they have the OBR:

3.08(a): "If no announcement of a substitution is made, the substitute shall be considerfed as having entered the game when - (1) If a pitcher, he take his place on the pitcher's plate."

FED is different - and better:

(3-1-1): "Should there be no announcement of substitutions, a substitute has entered the game <i>when the ball is alive</i> and: ... (b) a pitcher takes his place on the pitcher's plate."

Surely this statute doesn't come as a surprise to you.

It's easy for me to take the FED citation and apply it in an OBR game. I can always say that "taking his place on the pitcher's plate" can't possibly happen until I make the ball live.

Why would an umpire want to stick it up a team's backside in this manner? Furthermore, if the guy who took a warmup pitch isn't a pitcher, why would I want to have him throw pitches at me?

Rich Ives Wed Aug 31, 2005 08:35am

Why would an umpire want to stick it up a team's backside in this manner?


It may not have been the case here, but we've probably all encountered a team at one time or another that did deserve it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1