The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 27, 2005, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally posted by gotblue?
I guess that is what my instinct was telling me. In addition, I read some of the previous responses more carefully. I am left wondering why there would be a controversy/dispute as to whether the run would or would not have been scored in the example given initially.
The rule says "nullify any advance or score made ... because of the improper batter's advance to first base on ... or otherwise."

Yes, the improper batter advanced to first. But, was R3's advance to home *because* BR advanced to first? Or was it just *coincidental* to BR's advance to first (R3 advanced *because* of the wild pitch, not because B1 became BR). That's the controversy.

I think the NOTE at the end of 6.07(b) makes it clear -- if the advance is *during* the (illegal) at bat, it stands. In the play presented, the advance was after the at-bat (B1 had become BR -- see 6.04), so the runner must return (or, since this was the third out, the run is cancelled).

FED 7-1-2b seems to be better written, and more clear -- I think this particular ruling is one where FED and OBR agree.

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1