The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 04, 2005, 08:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
The two rules do not conflict with each other. 6.06(c) includes a reference to the exception that when there are less than two outs and the runner is advancing to home when the batter is interfered with, then it is the runner who is called out, not the batter. Jim Evans explains that the intent of this rule is to impose the more severe penalty on the offense.

The rules do not conflict; they instead are redundant, but necessary as 6.06(c) explains the rule as it impacts the batter because it's in the section of the rulebook on the batter, and 7.08(g) explains the rule as it impacts the runner because it's in the section of the rulebook on the runner.

7.09(d) is completely redundant with 7.08(g).

Nothing, however, in these three separate rules is intended to give umpires an "option" between enforcement penalties. There is no distinction between "making a play" and "attempting to make a play" or whatever it was Jerry said previously.

In the MLB play under discussion, the umpires simply screwed up. It happens, even at their level. This is a horse; not a zebra.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1