The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 27, 2005, 02:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 768
Since you stipulated FED rules, then it matters where the fringe infielders are stationed. If they're playing "in" to the extent that the ball has "passed" all infielders when it hits the runner, with "passed" being interpreted as further in distance from home plate than any of the infielders are stationed, then the ball would remain alive and you simply play on.

While I am not convinced that that interpretation is the actual intent of the FED, there exists a play in the FED casebook that pretty much "forces" such an interpretation. The actual rule, as I recall, is worded very similarly to OBR's treatment of a runner hit with a batted ball.

In OBR, the ball would be dead and the runner would be out.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1