The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   misc questions (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/21298-misc-questions.html)

MdSooner Thu Jul 14, 2005 10:43pm

Please dont beat me up for asking these questions:

1) runner on 2nd - pitcher spins toward 2nd for a pick off attempt. prior to throwing the ball the runner takes off for 3rd. pitcher stops his motion then throws to 3rd for the out. legal?

2) runner on 2nd. no outs. fly ball to f7 who catches the ball cleanly then "carries" it into dead ball territory due to his momentem (unintentional). is the ball dead automatically and award base(s)? or can f7 come back in live ball territory and play resumes and whatever happens - happens? is the rule different for obr?

3)runner rounding third slips and falls. 3rd base coach helps runner up and back to 3rd. is this an immediate dead ball? which means that runner is out and all other runners return to their base at TOP? (br awarded 1st?)

please just give the Fed Rule unless for #2 OBR is different.

dudeinblue Thu Jul 14, 2005 11:22pm

1) Yes

2)The ball is not dead, the batter is out, and to my knowledge he would have to come back to the playing territory if he wanted to throw the ball for a play.

3)The runner on third is out and all runners return to bases. BR is awarded 1st.

I cannot quote the OBR or FED rules on these, but to my knowledge they are the correct calls. If not, then somebody please let me know.

UmpJM Fri Jul 15, 2005 12:16am

MDSooner,

1. Most likely legal, but it's at least <b>possible</b> that the pitcher could balk while doing this. For example...

a. If the pitcher stopped his motion prior to landing the step (not the throw, since he's not making a move to 1B) to a base ("hesitation balk" - failure to meet the "continuous motion" requirement on a move from the rubber).

b. If the pitcher's free foot had crossed the back plane of the rubber and then landed his step more towards 3B then 2B.

If he completed the step to 2B "smoothly" and then stopped & threw to 3B, he's fine.

2.

FED: Batter is out. If both of the player's feet entered DBT or he fell into DBT, ball is dead, any runners are awarded one base from their TOP base. Any runners who had left their TOP base prior to the first touch by the fielder would be required to retouch or be subject to an appeal by the defense.

OBR: If the player remains standing and does not enter a "spectator area" ball remains live and in play. Otherwise, same as FED.

3.

FED: The assisted runner is out and the ball is "delayed dead" - any outs obtained by the defense on the play stand. Any other runners return to the last base legally occupied at TOI. BR is out if the coach's interference occurs on a play where the batter became a runner and is put out by the defense on the continuous action of the play. If not, he is "awarded" 1B - even if he had reached an advance base on the action of the play.

OBR: The assisted runner is out, but the ball remains <b>live and in play</b>. Any outs or advances by other runners stand. Reading the rulebook <b>Penalty</b> for 7.09 would lead one to the logical conclusion that the ball is dead on a coach's interference in assisting a runner, but it's not.

JM

mcrowder Fri Jul 15, 2005 08:08am

Dude - as always, you need to crack open that rule book.

Tim C Fri Jul 15, 2005 08:34am

I promise . . .
 
Coach JM wrote:

"1. Most likely legal, but it's at least possible that the pitcher could balk while doing this. For example...

a. If the pitcher stopped his motion prior to landing the step (not the throw, since he's not making a move to 1B) to a base ("hesitation balk" - failure to meet the "continuous motion" requirement on a move from the rubber).

b. If the pitcher's free foot had crossed the back plane of the rubber and then landed his step more towards 3B then 2B."
---------------------


I will be nice, I will be nice, I will be nice, I will be nice, I will be nice,I will be nice.

UmpJM Fri Jul 15, 2005 09:51am

Tim C.,

Please note that <b>nowhere</b> in my response did I use the phrase "balked to 2B". ;)

JM

GarthB Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:08am

Tim:

See what being "nice" gets you?

dudeinblue Fri Jul 15, 2005 12:59pm

you're right crowder. I'll start doing that more often. It could probably be helpful in most situations huh? :-)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1